FastCarsWiki.com

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

July 3 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

It's great on gas, small and zippy! Fun to drive. Very smooth ride.

Cons

Only con getting it used is that it was not taken care of very well. The interior door panels needed replacement, the heater/ac needed to be replaced, the ceiling liner reglued, and the window motors needed replacing.

Overall

Fun car thats good on gas.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 11 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

My 1st Car - very happy with it - needs work e.g. re-spray, tinted wintows etc. - can be a very rewarding car overtime if you put some money in it, to modify the BMW - safety - control over the car - its small size to get around.

Cons

Will cost you money to fix and/or add to the BMW - leather seat will need protection - paint may fade if left in the sun and leave a pale burnt look mostly on hood or roof - needs some of upgrades e.g. radio, speakers.

Overall

Very happy with this as My First Car, I believe i will not be selling anytime soon. Looking forward to upgrading it and turning it into a modern-classy, trustworthy car to hopfully drive for many more year to come.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 14 2010

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

- powerful - handles well - beautiful - pretty luxurious - at 165,000 miles (had to replace the transmission) but I feel that I can still have this car for a very long time, and I will not sell it until it dies. - This car drives, GREAT. - If it is well maintained, it is a very beautiful and rewarding car. - It is amazing for long drives. - It has more features than my 2006 car did.

Cons

- the trip computer is a bit complicated and bulky, but I just ignore it. - Being a BMW it is very hard to work on, nothing ever goes smoothly, or as you expect it to when you are changing or replacing anything. - The car is quite the guzzler, but it is a 1992, and to me it is worth it. - Being a BMW, parts are expensive.

Overall

I bought my 325i as a project car with 165,000 miles, and in mediocre condition. It has been very rewarding to put so much time into it. Nothing has gone out that I would not expect to. However, I am quite lucky to have a husband who is a mechanic, so I only pay for parts, which has literally saved me thousands. I would not reccomend buying this car (or any car this old with high miles) unless you expect to put money into it. We did every fluid exchange, replaced all filters, spark plugs, stuts and stut mounts, replaced the ignition lock and tumbler, fixes a bad door panel, bought a part for the heater, (and unfortunately replaced the transmission) and did some cosmetic stuff such as polishing the headlights and replacing the old taillight covers, buying custom seat covers. After all of this, the car is perfect. . .which yes is a lot, but it is an amazing car and 10-15k cheaper than buying a new car. Total cost with purchasing the car is around 5,500

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 11 2009

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

it has a lot of pick up

Cons

small in side

Overall

the car drives good . i enjoy it with the top down and the wind blowing my hair.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

November 1 2008

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Its great on gas and handling is pretty good as well. mines got nearly 200,000 miles on it and still hasnt suffered any serious repairs.

Cons

The same problem with the broken power windows, 3 of 4.

Overall

i wouldnt recommend this car to anyone who is reckless. it takes some one who can take care of the actual car and not always push it hard for it to last long and not burn a hole in your pockets with repairs.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 17 2008

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

very fast,stylish i put18 inch 5 spoke wheels on it up dated the head and tail lights and this car is the you know what and great handling did i say very fast

Cons

cheap feeling seats the windows used to get stuck till i got the buttons replaced

Overall

one of my favorite cars it was more like a toy tho attention!!! all parents this car is very fast but also dependable

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

July 21 2007

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

In my opinion It´s complete & excellent car, looks nice, good appearence - finish - style - handling - power very reliable, classy agressive and sporty at same time, It´s a good entrance luxury vehicle. Well thought out and designed car, great engine (good german engineer), It´s a fun car to drive and own. Still attracts attention being 15 years old, Great product!

Cons

Now, This is a list which I think are inconvinient for daily use of this car; No fold down rear seat, seats are not very comfy, radio reception poor, on board computer display and buttoms, no vanos, expensive to maintaine, expensive parts, to much brake dust on whhels, back seat room to small (uncomfy for long trips), speed governor (has much more top speed without it wasting performance), no front armrest console, no cup holder, no rear headrest, heavy car, some bad interior plastics, heating and air conditioned, expensive insurance, interior doors trims fell off easily, gas economy (some time is low).

Overall

My toy has low milage 70,000. Still looking pretty sharp, just like new, has an original & excellent shape. Even the car is stock, runs GREAT. I put euro lights (ellipsoid) kit which is much better. The double trans (manual - automatic) very innovative in that time and now, it´s very multifuntional. Next: 17" or 18" wheels, HID, new muffler, o2 sensor, catalizers & some minor mods. I don´t change this car for nothing, the brillant red color makes it look so sleek and sporty. You have to see when you step on the gas, you just will get a big smile on your face, seriosly!. No one will ever how old the car is, nothing to envy about other cars, respond my driving and when I really needed!!! Some people think having this car It´s expensive, let me tell you´re right!!! If you plan to get a car like this, you better have a heavy wallet to keep this car working and looking nice, instead what dou you expect it´s an BMW!!!. This car just still on the road....

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

June 16 2007

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This car handles like a dream. It responds quickly and hugs the road. I have had to perform very few repairs, considering it is a 15 year old car. Leather sport seats have held up amazingly well. It still has the original clutch. All electonics still work. I bought it 7 years ago for 10,000. Best money I ever spent on a car.

Cons

NOISY. Cheap plastic around door handles has broken.

Overall

Too noisy to carry on a conversation with your passenger, but mostly I drive alone. Very few repairs for its age. Manuvers wonderfully!! If you don't car about the interior, but want a car that responds, (for very little cash), this is the car for you.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 24 2006

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Performance, styling, price ($1500), engine life (218,000 miles)

Cons

Expensive to fix, no fold down rear seat, no cupholder!

Overall

This car was a good, fast car to show off to my friends and roast some tires. As long as i keep putting oil in it (leaking through gasket) It will probably never die on me. I get told i'm spoiled all the time. If people only knew it costed me $1500.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

September 26 2005

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

The motor is built for boost

Cons

its old now...:(

Overall

Great car! a good buy for everyone!

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 9 2005

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Performance, Quality For a '92, interior, only costed 9,000

Cons

No Leather, Cup Holders, 15" tires, interior space

Overall

good car

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

June 2 2005

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

the look and the sound.

Cons

very low to the ground hard to make it over speed bumps. also seats are a little uncomfortable on long trips

Overall

I tell everyone who is thinking about getting a car to buy a BMW. They hold their value and look great for any person. I love BMW.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 25 2005

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

I am the original owner of this car. It looks like the 1999 Coupe and is similar to the 2005. The car is powerful on the freeway and yet gets excellent gas mileage in the 23 to 35 MPG range. Its paint is flawless and the interior looks one-quarter of its actual age. This is a great handling car with its OEM Michelin tires. The power slide/tilt sunroof and stereo with 10-speakers are outstanding. The dual zone climate control is great. It also has split fold-down rear seats that really comes in handy. It has been totally reliable all of these years. This 3-Series began its current record of Car and Driver Magazine's 10-Best Awards that it has won every year since, including 2005.

Cons

It could have used real cup holders, but you can easily make the standard console do that job. Otherwise, its classic design is practically perfect.

Overall

The 318iS is a sensational car for the person who wants a great handling car that is well equipped, comfortable, versatile, economical and a great freeway cruiser. The 1992 318iS was identical to the 325iS with the following exceptions: The engine size and fog lights. Everything else was the same including the suspension, brakes, chassis and vinyl interior. The 325is weighed over 150 pounds more than the 318iS, whiched helped the 318's quickness. The 318iS actually has a better sounding exhaust note than the 325iS. I have to laugh when I see people in this section give the occasional 1, 2 or 3 rating to lower the overall ratings. If you can find a 318iS Coupe with low mileage and in good shape, why would you buy a lesser brand? I still find myself admiring its beautiful design, inside and out. Maintenance parts are readily available from BMW and are less expensive than you might think. This BMW has truly been "The Ultimate Driving Machine"!!

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

December 14 2004

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

The car is 12 years old but still looks and performs better than a lot of new cars on the market.

Cons

After market parts are hard to find.

Overall

I will only drive BMW after owning this car.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 5 2004

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

everything

Cons

no power seats

Overall

the car for everybody

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

May 8 2004

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

I absolutely love this car. Mainly because I'm usually alone or with only one other person in the car. I've owned the car for 2 years and have never had any mechanical probelms with it. The car can sit for periods, and start right up whenever you need it without hesitation. 145,000 miles and never had any work other than routine maintenance

Cons

The rear seat is basicly useless to passengers. Even small ones. This car should have a 2+2 model. Power is adequate, but I think that the 325 series would be a better option. I'm opting to swap my 318 for the 325 whenever it starts giving me problems.

Overall

This car makes for a perfect commuter car of first car, unless you are one of those who crave loads of power, or feels a need to carry the family along. Then I recommend the 325 engine, and either the 5 or 7 series BMW. OveralI, I consider this to be a great all around car.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 25 2004

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This is my first Beemer and I absolutely love it. The terrific handling, strong braking, the torquey engine are what make this car a true driver's dream. I love taking it to Hwy 1 (Pacific Coast Hwy) and let it tackles the turns. When I drive my other car (a Subaru Outlook Lmtd) and rentals, I really appreciate the good engineering that comes with this car. Coupled with the car's good look, needless to say this is a great car for the past 8 years.

Cons

No f--g cup holder! There's no place to put a can of soda. Also, the quality is not up to par with similar price model. Plastics on door panels were replaced twice and roof material peeled off at the edge. I have minor electronics ailments-windows won't go down or got stuck or interior fan sometimes not turning.

Overall

Overall, I am pleased with this car. If you are serious about driving with a need to carry occasional 4 passengers, BMW is the car. The performance is not that much different than the 4-door counterpart (I know I drove my sister's 94 325i) and so you should buy the 2-door strictly because of the good look. The mechanical (engine, transmission, suspension,..) of this BMW are pretty solid.I have 145 K miles and everything seems to hold well together. The downside is the electrical systems which tend to fail here and there.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 12 2004

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Its perfect for the opera and the mall. 4drs...and still plenty of sportscar feel. Lots of low end torque. It is a pleasure to drive every day.

Cons

I wish cupholders were standard.

Overall

Its perfect for the opera and the mall. 4drs...and still plenty of sportscar feel. Lots of low end torque. It is a pleasure to drive every day.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 13 2004

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

it's fun to ride, with a car that has some power ( added ) lol,and is good to handle, sportive looking exterieur and interieur ( white and bleu leather;) )

Cons

nothin infact

Overall

ty bmw!!!!

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 9 2004

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Well, furtunatly mines happens to be a very rare and beautiful color it also has the european light kit,you know the clear blinker and side lights and the red and white tail lights,its also one solid color,theres no black rubber ring around the cars bumber.I recomend this to any BMW owner with a older car because mines get mistakend for a newer model all the time.Also this car handles with the grace and poys of a clasically trained violinist,and not to mention the beast that it keeps hidden under its hood, Ive torn a many of folks a new one with this car.

Cons

Well with all that said I do have some issues,first why is the car shell so waffer thin? you cant even lean against this thing with out denting it.Also repairs are so high I almost had to sell a kidney to get a tune up.None I repeat NONE of the windows work properly nor does the sun roof nor the radio nor the air conditioning nor heating system nor anything electrical. and the interior continues to fall apart mostly when its cold out side,for some reason all the knobs are made of cheap plastic that gets colds and crack.

Overall

If youve never driven a BMW I truely reccomend it. As long as it works youll be happy. Theres no car like it.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 8 2004

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

My 325 is lowered and has some additions like euro styling, 18" rims and has been babied since new. With over 250K it is still as strong as ever. Tip always use mobil 1.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

November 26 2003

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This car is fun to drive although no pick up. Great gas mileage. Looks good - just a cool car.

Cons

Sunroof has broken, drivers window has broken twice but other than that its the kind of car that if you take care of it then it will run forever.

Overall

If you can afford repairs on these vehicles then by all means buy one if you want it. I have really no complaints for a car that is a 1992 and has 325,000 miles on it. I will drive this thing into the dirt!

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

September 24 2003

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

exterior is excellent

Cons

Interior is poor

Overall

I only spent about $2000 in repairs since I had the car

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 26 2003

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

handling very fast good gas milege good looking

Cons

too small

Overall

the bmw 325ic very reliable good german engeniring.

1992 BMW 3-Series review

Date

June 3 2003

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Upgrades, performance, sporty looking for a 92! Will run forever! Mines pretty sharp: Great Aftermarket Sound System, bilstein sport suspension, H&R sport springs, 18 inch wheels, K&N intake, Dinan Exhaust, M3 lighting, spoiler, and Tints

Cons

Routine maintenace, unavoidable... common things that go on this car are the thermostat and waterpump, but will last until atleast 100k and after that the car should keep going and going and going.....

Overall

This car will live forever! great combination of performance, style, sportiness, luxury, just over all a great car which is why BMW is THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE..

BMW 3-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph