FastCarsWiki.com

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

March 3 2013

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

As usual, BMW straight 6 does just fine in the acceleration and linear power department. Very BMW in the power and handling aspects. Surprisingly good mileage for the performance offered. Not as many around vs three series.

Cons

BMW interiors not like they were 10-15 years ago. Hate the run flat tires. Useless back seats. Feminine styling.

Overall

Not a bad car overall, I loved it for the short time we've owned it. Probably wouldn't buy again but who knows. Handles and accelerates well but not sure I could live with this day in-day out. Wife likes it so there you go.

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

December 15 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Coming from Europe I always remember and so admired the 3 series as it was before it had to grow up to be a contender in the American Market. Thankfully BMW saw an opportunity to come along with the 1 series (Thank You) which is based on the earlier platform. This platform gives this car superb handling and a driving experience like no other (unless you can spend in excess of $80k). Have owned this one for three years now and have a second ordered to take its place - that alone should tell you something. I have tried other vehicles but just cannot tear myself away from the overall experience and pleasure I get driving the 1. Back seat a none issue for us, no family, unless you count dogs.

Cons

Wish the options didn't drive the price up so quickly!

Overall

If they were less expensive I would have one for each foot!

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

December 1 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

This is definitely a fun car to drive and with the top down, it takes 20 years of my life.

Cons

I've had this convertible for 5 months. There are rattles everywhere and the dealer is not sure what is going on yet. Very disappointed since I've owned BMW's since 1990 and none of them rattled. What could possibly "rattle" on a beemer? More to come regarding this problem. Also disappointed in the "convenience package" being an extra. Why wouldn't a $40,000 car have keyless ignition, Xenon lights, warning signal upon backup and an alarm system? BMW not too receptive to my complaints regarding the package problem.

Overall

Great looking and fun car to drive. Extremely dependable. Most of my experience with BMW's has been positive up until now. My present car is not the quality I've come to expect in a high end car.

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

October 21 2012

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Performance

Cons

Bad fuel economy

Overall

I should be 4 cilindres like X1 twin turbo. It will have enough power and better fuel economy. I wish arrive for 2013-2014. I waiting for it

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

October 1 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

styling, handling, power, comfort, interior quality

Cons

idiots that complain about small back seat idiots

Overall

i test drove 17 vehicles only the cayman was better at twice the price

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

September 9 2012

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Moves and stops well

Cons

Service is expensive.

Overall

Just a note but the weight difference between a 2012 BMW 1 Series Coupe and a 2012 BMW 3 Series Coupe is 143 pounds, not nearly as much as everyone thinks. If you want to lose weight lose the automatic transmission which saves almost 200 pounds. Not sure where this myth came about concerning weight.

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

September 5 2012

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Fuel economy has been fine

Cons

Ride is great

Overall

I have owned seven BMW's since 2000 . From an x5, 330 Ci Convertible,x3, 2 3series wagons, I now own a 535i Gt and one of the BEST I have ever owned..My 135i Convertible..The most fun car to drive of them all..anyone that looks at this as an entry level BMW wannabe had better look again..it is comfortable..more so than the 3 series , handling is fantastic. responsive and just plain FUN!! and LOOKS like a convertible..

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

August 19 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Excellent handling ...rocket acceleration. No problems in 1 year of ownership. Convertible even allows large objects to be carried with top down, as trunk space limited. Great bang for buck!

Cons

Small back seats,expected in coupe of this size.

Overall

Cheaper, sportier alternative to 3 series.

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

August 1 2012

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

none

Cons

outdated

Overall

price 2013's as new, they went on sale in june that is all. I need 15 words to submit a review which is why you are ready this nonsense................................................................

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

July 31 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Owned the car for 2 years EXTREMELY fun to drive, Not many on the road. Really good road feeling. NO turbo lag because of the twin turbo and is a rocket-ship. Also the price was very attractive.

Cons

No spare tire because of run flats.. The 135i has horrible reliability the car was constantly in the shop thats why I got rid of it. Things started to rattle and break . I bought the car brand new.

Overall

Great Performance but reliability is nonexistent.. If you drive the 135i you will buy it. Purchased the car in 2010... not 2011

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

July 8 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

The 135i with the M-sport package is a blast to drive. Fast, nimble and comfortable. In ~2 years no issues have cropped up; mechanical or fit & finish.

Cons

Allthough expected, the turbo lag can be a bit jarring when in sport mode.

Overall

A great "small" car.

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

June 9 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Fantastic car .. could only be better as a hard top convertible.

Cons

Acceleration, looks, road holding.

Overall

Great car ... good fun. I'm getting 32 mpg too! :)

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

May 13 2012

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Handling, Power, Ride, Transmission and looks tough.

Cons

Blind Spot Monitor Should be Standard since the blind spot has its own zip code.

Overall

Almost everything about my 128i Convertible in Deep Sea Blue is wonderful. It was the best choice in a car, I have made. For $43k, navigation should have been on the car, but getting lost in this car is sooo much fun. The blind spots are applying for their own zip code though (Top Up Driving).

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

February 9 2012

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Handling, Power, Styling, Reliability

Cons

Like all Beamers it's a bit tempermental at times, sensors etc.

Overall

I had a 3 Series before I got the 1 Series in September 2009. It has the same engine as my 328I, the 3.5 Liter V6 with 230 Horses, but it's 9 inchers shorter and 300 pounds lighter so it's a bit more powerful. I've had no major problems, but in my opinion, BMW does over engineer these cars which makes them a bit tempermental, I had a sensor go out which necessitated a visit to the dealership for an over night stay and one of the high beams blew out which they replaced during my scheduled check up/oil change. The car drives great, I've owned 2 Audi's and 2 BMW's and I have to give BMW the edge, there's just something about the way these cars drive that's really great.

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

October 13 2011

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Essence

Cons

Hello

Overall

Hello I'm the ambassador of France of Benin ready I am interested to pay your new BMW so how can I proceed to the payment and verification thank you

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

October 2 2011

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

very good

Cons

no

Overall

Hello Ltfaayn send me the address of the machine: Iran-Mashhad in Khorasan Razavi-57_-teacher Unit 4 No. 176_

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

September 25 2011

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Great looks, comfortable, and the top goes down with the push of a button.

Cons

I don't have any dislikes in this car.

Overall

This car is great looking, fun to drive, and performs beautifully on both streets and highways. I like the fact that it is a tad smaller than the 3 series but has the same engine. I had the 135 series and don't notice the difference because you really can't drive fast enough in traffic to make use of the turbo engine.

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

September 18 2011

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Acceleration, transmission, handling

Cons

Back seat comfort, ride is a bit rough on bad roads

Overall

This is the nicest "toy" that I have owned. I originally looked at a couple of different convertibles (BMW 3-series, Infinity G) but they had folding hard tops leaving little if any trunk room. The 135i , with it's soft top, has much more room. It's not huge mind you but you can it least fit golf clubs in it. The acceleration is quick and the transmission is smooth and seemless. The back seat is small but at least it is usable. So far, after 1300 miles, I have averaged 27.8 mpg combined... premium fuel is required

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

September 17 2011

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Great looks, good power, Handles Exceptionally

Cons

Rear view with top up poor

Overall

Just bought a 2012 128 i Convertible, absolutely love this car!! It handles the road great and truely is "the ultimate driving machine"!! I love the lines of the car you can tell alot of time went into the design. Everywhere I go heads turn!! Highly recommend this model. Only downside is it's hard to see out the rear window with the top up but i have the back up alarm option that works well, tells you when your within 6 inches of hitting something......

2012 BMW 1-Series review

Date

September 1 2011

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

great look, great price

Cons

could have better fuel economy

Overall

got this car on March 22, 2008. The first day it came out in the USA. Still love driving the car. Overall great ride

BMW 1-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph