FastCarsWiki.com

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

May 19 2010

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Fast, quick handling, great breaks, nice sound.

Cons

Can't see standard stereo through polarized glasses. iPod interface leaves something to be desired on standard radio along w/ HD functionality.

Overall

I took delivery on 2011 135i on April 30th and love the car. It's amazing to drive and looks fantastic - got Sedona Red which is a special order color and totally worth it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

April 3 2010

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Great Auto

Overall

These BMWs are awesome. My husband and I are avid BMWs fans and this is my fifth one. The 128i is not too big nor too small, has everything, fair price, including the smooth ride and the "get up and go." I would highly recommend the 128i.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

April 3 2010

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Fun car to drive, looks, handling...

Cons

Price adds up quick

Overall

The best car I have ever owned. I was looking for a small rear wheel drive coupe that was fun to drive, and this car fit the bill perfectly, plus BMW was offering a low interest rate, and a 4 year 50,000 mile maintenance package. I ordered mine the way I wanted it (color and options). The car handles great, and has good pick up for a 230 hp car (260hp would have been better). I opted for the sports package, which includes a sport suspension and sport seats. The seats are extremely comfortable. The ride is fine on good streets, but if the street conditions are poor, your ride will suffer, especially with the sport suspension and run flat tires. The back seat is small. I don't have anyone sit back there, but it looks like only kids and maybe an adult for a very short trip would be okay. You will probably get between 18 and 20 mpgs on surface streets and close to 30 on the highway on premium fuel. As with all BMW's the price adds up quick with options. All I ordered was a premium color, sports suspension and auto tranny with paddle shifters. The car was delivered in a little over 8 weeks from Germany and BMW was great keeping me informed. If you are looking for a small, fun to drive premium coupe, test drive this car, it is fantastic. FYI... I have had my car since Aug. '09 with zero problems.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

March 24 2010

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

I and my wife were looking for our first BMW car. We both agreed on 2009 BMW 135i coupe because she kind of like it. Needless to say, we bought the car. After reading the specs. and feature about the car and some test-drives, I must say; if BMW has the M3, this 135 is the equivalent of M2.5. Awesome.

Cons

Too fast for my wife!

Overall

Poor man's M3

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

January 31 2010

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Great Power

Cons

Can be a little crampped with 4 people.

Overall

I bought my 128i almost 5 thousand miles ago brand new. It goes from 60 to 100 in almost no time at all and I've taken it up all the way to about 150 MPH(Autobahn in Germany). When ever I take it easy I get GREAT mileage. It corners well and is just plain fun to drive.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

January 1 2010

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Acceleration, braking, handling, easy to drive, great visibility, transmission, service

Cons

voice commands don't work, convenient access keys malfunction, bluetooth is useless as is most tech.

Overall

This is an outstanding car to drive. Better than my dad's old e36 M3. Bought a set of Blizzaks for snow tires and I cannot lose control in the snow even if I try. The DTC won't let me. Unfortunately, all of the technology features on the car fail. The convenient access feature is great to have but I've had two keys that did not work properly. The doors would lock and unlock in the rain automatically every few seconds. Nearly drove me insane. The voice commands do not work. The car can never understand me. The hands free bluetooth is useless. The reception is so bad that you cannot understand the other person. The engine burned oil very fast for the first 12000 miles. The performance tires will only last 3 Summers. I would trade this car in if it wasn't such a blast to drive. Thankfully, the warranty fixes everything for free for the first 36,000 miles because a lot needs to be fixed. BMW service is exceptional.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 25 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Nice looking car

Cons

Poor gas mileage. Breaking too often

Overall

First BMW, I was expecting a reliable car which is why I purchased this vehicle, and got the opposite. Less than 5,000 miles, the AC has been out 2 times. The current issue is the gas gauge only registering 3/4 tank when full. What next? Had less trouble with A Saturn with 185,000 miles on it. Looking forward to getting rid of this car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 1 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Sun-reflective leather interior, fun to drive, comfortable.

Cons

Blind spot with top up, small gas tank.

Overall

I've owned my 128i convertible since Aug. 2009. It's White w/ Savanna Beige/Black boston leather interior & a Black top. It has the Premium Package, Cold Weather Package, iPod/USB adaptor & 6-spd Auto transmission. I did several months of research before buying this car, and after a few months of ownership, here's my opinion: -- I had the dealer leave two convertible tops down for 1/2 hour on a 90 degree day... one w/ leather & the other w/ leatherette. I highly recommend leather over leatherette mainly because leatherette was blazing hot w/ the top down. The leather has sun-reflective technology, enabling it to deflect the sun and remain cooler to the touch. The leather seats are supple & super comfortable. -- I love the Premium Package mainly because of the Bluetooth. No need for a cellphone headset, just unlock the door & your connected. You listen through the car radio speakers & just speak. I've had no problem using it w/ the top down. (I don't believe you can order Bluetooth as a stand alone option.) Nevertheless, all of the other Prem. Package features like the auto-dimming rearview mirror, power searts, lumbar support & ambiance light package are nice to have too. -- The Cold Weather package. The heated steering wheel barely gets warm, but the heated seats are nice on those cool nights w/ the top down. -- The iPod/USB adapter is sweet. No need to scroll through your handheld iPod via an aux. jack. You will see all songs as layed out on your iPod directly on the dashboard radio. -- The 6-speed Steptronic Auto transmission is nice, but it cannot be compared to a stick shift. I could not find a dealer in the tri-state area with a 128i on the lot that had standard transmisson... ALL were automatic. I suggest you order the car from scratch if you want a stick, because I assure you they are hard to find on dealer lots. -- This is my third BMW. I've owned the 2003 & 2006 3 series. By comparison, this 128i is my favorite of the three. The top is quick and effortless with the push of a button. There is however a nasty blind spot btw the passenger door and rear window w/ the top up. I've taken a few long road trips & several short drives. The 128i has the best suspension of any BMW I've owned. It's a relaxing cruiser with lots of power and unbelievable handling. One negative is that the gas tank is much smaller than my 3-series... about 100 miles smaller on a full tank! The trunk is decent for a convertible, and the rear seats are only good for kids. Regardless, buy this car if you love to drive, if you don't mind getting looks and you love the sun & wind. This is a great car!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

September 4 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Excellent drive, BMW power, rear seats are actually very comy and roomy. I' 6'1

Cons

The price for the options

Overall

I bought this car a week ago. I have never felt so driving and being driven in a car this amazing. This is my first BMW and I see why people never buy anything other thatn BMW's after their first one. The car is small. The rear seats are so comfortable and roomy that it blows my mind. The 3-series convertible was way more cramped and this one has more leg room in the back than my Cadillac CTS. It's a very powerful car and has excellent acceleration because it is light and has 230hp.For an extra $5k you can get a 135i at 300hp but it's already expensive enough. The price is it's only drawback. A must get though.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

August 26 2009

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Engine, brakes, handling, driver orientated interior

Cons

Many options available in Europe can not be purchased in the US.

Overall

BMW has produced a car targeted at the driver and not someone who wants to see a Roundel on their hood. The 335i I traded in was just too big, more like 5 series were 10 years ago. This car brings make memories of the E30 and E36 3 series. I look for excuses to drive this car, something I did not do with the 335i. Makes me forget how old I really am. The deisel or 4-cylinder options should be brought over from Europe.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

July 14 2009

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

It's a BMW Convertible ! and Affordable

Cons

Nothing!

Overall

Best car I ever own

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

April 3 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Power, Handling

Cons

Can't think of any yet

Overall

Chasis is rigid, balanced and nimble. Turbos barely have any lag and the engine is responsive through out the entire range of the rpm guage. Words cannot adequetely describe the ultimate driving machine (Go for a test drive!).

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

March 23 2009

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Three words: Handling, Acceleration, and Braking. Its those three things that makes this car shine. I opted for the 135i coupe with sports package and Steptronic transmission and that silky smooth 3.0L inline six twin turbo engine is an absolute beauty! Cruising on the highway is no problem with this car, in fact maybe too easy. Push down too far on the accelerator and you might have to prepare yourself for a ticket. No worries though, six piston and two piston (front/rear) calipers keep you in check. This car You definitely feel one with the 1 series. :)

Cons

Not much to dislike about this car, I know for a fact that this car has more potential under the hood, but if it left the factory any more powerful it would eat into M car sales. I've owned my car for 5 months now and I just love it, its hard to find fault with it. Could be better on gas mileage, but for the power it offers I can't be mad.

Overall

Was in love with this car from day one. Its stylish, fast, and handles like a dream. I have no regrets in choosing this car, even though I had Porsche's Cayman S in mind around time of purchase. After owning this car I believe that BMW is the Ultimate Driving Machine and the 1 series fits right in.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

March 4 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Smooth acceleration, secure handling and awesome engine hum.

Cons

Speed limit on the roads!

Overall

I bought a 2009 128i a month ago and I absolutely love it. I can't wait to get into the car and hear the engine hum each day. The handling is superb - what I expected from BMW; The acceleration is smooth across the entire speed spectrum (at least, what I am able to test) though the ride can be a little rough if you are not used to a sport suspension. But then again, this is a driver's car! If you want a smooth, comfortable ride, this is not for you. But if you want to feel like you own the road; if you want to feel the hum of a well tuned engine; if you want to be the envy of every other driver ... this is the car for you. It is pricy but I cannot put a value on the feel I get when I get behind the wheel of this beauty!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

March 1 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Amazing flat torque, horsepower, handling, engine sound

Cons

may be picking up speeding tickets if not careful...

Overall

Super fast, limitless torque available in almost any rpm. BMW is actually one of the few car companies which makes the topque vs rpm and horsepower vs rpm graphs available in the brochure and I really appreciated that. Try to find similar graphs for other cars... Yes, I agree that options are costly, but you buy this car for its muscle, torque, handling and pure driving. There is no option that relates to or improves perfomance anyways...all of the options are for convenience. Personally I didn't care about any of them...all they do is putting extra weight on the car! The car is excellent the way it is!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

February 23 2009

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

This car handels like a race car. It's fast, fun and goes in the direction you want to go. The suspension it tight and agile, so on a smooth highway, it rocks. The quality states BMW and the attention to detail is awesome. Gas wilse it is economical for a sport car with a twin turbo.

Cons

I would like it to have a little more power, maybe remaping it and chiping it with a better engine handeling program that will give it 400 HP.

Overall

Overall, I was more impressed than what I thought I would be. BMW's have always been the ultaimate driving machines and with this new sibling, "The ONE" , they have gotten it right.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

February 19 2009

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Superb BMW handling. Wonderful manual transmission.

Cons

High price options.

Overall

All it takes is a drive to fall in love with this car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

February 18 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Fun to drive, unique (very few on the road so far), looks great

Cons

Ride is a little rough and has a few rattles

Overall

I've had the car 8 months and love it as much today as I did the very first. Every time I take a road trip I smile the whole way. It's less about the destination and more about driving there. Although the ride is a bit rough on bumpy roads, I realize it's partially due to the low profile run flats...but they look great! I've had no problems so far. Everthing works just the way it should and I love the looks I get when I have it out on the road.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

February 18 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

too many to mention - exhilerating, fun, reliable

Cons

none found yet

Overall

Purchased the car new in june 2008. was considering a used 330i convertible but felt it was better value to get a 1 series new. ordered the 128i but the dealer delivered a 135i for about the same price. i love the extra juice and i can't wait to get in it every day, particularly when the weather gets nicer. the car is not very popular so when people see it they want to know what it is and how they can get one. i have 2 children 5 and 8 who love to ride in the back. its a little cozy so i pull the seat up a little for them. not much of a sacrifice. the car gets up and moves so fast that you feel like a master of the universe on the road, which is a bit dangerous. minor drawback has been the low tire pressure monitor goes off constantly in the cold weather. Also, i got my car pretty fully loaded but skipped the nav - i would go for it because when you buy the car you can't wait to get in it and the last thing you want to do is hook up your nuvi or print out mapquest.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 1-Series review

Date

February 15 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Super Fast, Very Comfortable, Great Gas Milage, Reliable

Cons

Back Seat For Looks ONLY! Dealer Service/Roadside Assistance Is TERRIBLE!

Overall

I bought 135i Coupe fully optioned out, with the exception of the nav. system, back in April of 2008. I looked for the 135i Coupe that was supposed to be priced around 39k, it just doesn't exist. All the ones at my local dealership were stickered at 42k and above. After I added my options, mine came in at just shy of 50k, roughly the same price of the larger 335i nicely equipped. I still chose the 135i because it is just that much more fun to drive, and I didn't really need the additional 2 doors, or space. I drive 40 miles each direction to work every day, and have racked up over 16k so far on the odometer. The car has had no mechanical problems, I just happen to be a magnet for nails, and have had the tires replaced, yes, the full set, twice, due to nail damage. There is construction going up all over my area, nails everywhere you look in the road. I get an average of 24 mpg combined city/hwy mileage, and have seen 30 mpg on the hwy on long trips at 70 mph. My dog, a full grown English Mastiff, rides with me everywhere, and she seems to enjoy the back seat just fine. BMW makes a wonderful custom backseat pet protector for people like me. It slides in and hooks up easy, and comes out just as simple, all the while protecting my Coral Red leather interior. The stereo with SIRIUS satellite service is excellent in sound and function, and all of the controls are right where they need to be for the driver. In the city, the car rides and handles beautifully, perfect combination of performance and comfort, BMW has achieved what I believe to be the perfect balance between the two. On the highway, the car is agile and quiet, but it can also be a rocket when passing the semi trucks. The transmission, whether in manual mode, or automatic shifts quick and positive, and works well with the traction and stability control. I have to admit to having some wheel spinning fun with the traction control off, this car can lay a patch of rubber a mile long! I do not recommend turning off the stability control. In bad weather, I feel very safe. I can normally maintain highway speeds confidently unless the downpour is too heavy, but regular wet roads do not effect the traction of this car at all. In the snow, you will need snow tires. The sport run flat tires that came with my car are just not safe in the snow, and they have zero grip the minute the snow touches the ground. The traction control, with the stability control, combined with good snow tires make this car handle like it is on rails. The run flat tires have proved invaluable. I hit a curb avoiding an accident, and rips a 2" hole in the sidewall of my right front tire the second week I had the car. Not only was the car still driveable to the dealership, but I did not notice that the handling was too terribly awful, even at 60 mph with a huge hole in the sidewall. The roadside assistance is a joke, I waited for over 6 hours for someone to come help me, that is when and how I discovered the car was still driveable. Once the car was at the dealership, they had the audacity to charge me $15.00 a day for a "loaner" which I believe is supposed to be included with BMW service. If GM and Ford can give me a loaner without charging me, why can't BMW? The dealership had my car for 5 days to change the tire, and nobody seemed to know, or care, when I would get my car back. Aside from the terrible roadside assistance and the dealerships lousy service, the car has been great. If you need a commuter, and don't have older children, or co-workers to drive around, you will love driving this car every day.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

BMW 1-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph