FastCarsWiki.com

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

February 24 2013

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Stupid-fast with hi horsepower to weight ratio! Awesomely nimble with the motorsport package. The seats take you in and love on you - seat heater is lava hot. Heater kicks in fast too.

Cons

Still looking for the back end of the car. Some lag in the turbo. Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) is very querky. Steering wheel peeled - replaced under warranty. The anti-skid mechanism failed right after warranty expired - switch replaced - $700 - YGBSM!

Overall

Mine is the Motorsport version. It's the funnest car I have ever driven - highway or street! 53K miles - still holding up well, with exception of anti-skid switch. Worried about long term reliability and cost of maintenance.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 9 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Solid, Predictable, FUN!!

Cons

NONE

Overall

Liked it better than new E350 Class

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

October 14 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Nice highway car but not for the city streets

Cons

Took car to local dealer for passenger airbag light staying on when someone is in the seat. They said the battery had a low charge whe driven daily. Problem came up again repeatedly. Still under warranty but when the warranty changed to the next phase for the same thing. They wanted me to pay for the next step in the trouble shooting tree. Owned car for 22 months convertable top back glass started seperating from the material just when the warranty was over.My extended warranty would not cover replacing top but insurance willing to do so. I did'nt do that. Beware of runflat tires if you run over a nail which I'm sure we all have,the tire cannot be repaired.

Overall

Nice sports car but not for long term ownership. Poor quaitly paint and wheels tarnish very easy.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

August 15 2012

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Powerfule engine, responsive tranmission, easy jack up to a more powerful machine to more then 400HP

Cons

Quite a bit of maintainence, The French make tweeter not as good. Unable to see the console at noon time.

Overall

Own the car for 4 years, beside regular service, what have been done/failure as below: 1.Tweeter upgrade to Infinit Kappa series, Make it total different 2. Power seat memory not working 3. Side mirror motor malfuntion 4. All fuel injector malfuntion 5. High pressure fuel pump fail 6. Radio display fail at summer 7. Steering column sensor fail 8. Oxygen sensor fail 9. Oil filter housing gasket leak 10. Shock replacement ........................ Most of the time dealer can't fix it in one visit. If you want to keep the car better get the extend warranty and all maintainence ahead.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

October 13 2011

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Good Strong Engine, corners well. Fun Car!

Cons

Run Flats, Get some good summer tires

Overall

This is my first BMW. The car is quick and fun to drive, free service is for 2.5 more years since I bought it used. 2 more years of used car warranty after that.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

May 11 2011

Model

BMW 1 Series

Overall

The style of this series may not be for everyone but if you have driven a BMW you can't beat the fast, tight drive. The car is solid and the interior has a clean design. I spoke to a lot of peole who have one before I bought it and they all said they loved it and I have to agree. Yes, when you get into the BMW and Mercedes territory they're not cheap. But that's why there are many other makes and models out there for people to choose from

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

January 2 2011

Model

BMW 1 Series

Overall

I had better than that.I had all bmws before. I had this before to. I had bmw alpena to and bmw x6

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 2 2009

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

great driving car, lots of power,speed and handles like F1! Styling is unique BMW. gas mileage avges 25mpg and I drive 80!

Cons

Irritating TPM light, everytime car moves in am it must be reset. Tire pressures checked, one sensor replaced and still..... Also if your not used to a true sports car ride...hang on...

Overall

Great car for the money, its true the options add up. Lots of power and handling tho for the $$

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

June 18 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Good looking, great handling/acceleration, excellent power/performance

Cons

Not sure of future reliablity

Overall

The 135i convertible is very sharp. It packs tons of power in a littler car.I was in the dealer to check out the new X6 but then I saw this great looking convertible parked besides. Both the X6 and the 135i sit 4 people. There are plenty of room in the front seat of the car; the back can be a little cramped for tall adults. Otherwise, the rear leg room and the cargo is still usable and decent. The ride was tight, precise with great power and acceleration. I've had it for 3 months and so far it was in the shop once for a SES light. They changed out a valve so it was not a big deal. I'm just hoping that the reliability of this car will hold up in the future. I've been getting very good gas mileage out of it. After the break in period, with a combination of city and highway driving which averages around 32 miles per hour according to the onboard computer, i get around 24 mpg. I'm so surprised that people said this car is a gas-guzzler since I found it contrary. I had a 128i loaner and the gas mileage was even better. The car is an automatic so I don't know whether this makes a difference.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

May 21 2009

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

Fast Fast Fast! Nice inside if you pick all the option. Excpectional handling.

Cons

Audio don't sound that great even with the HiFi Logic 7 installed. Interior part fell off Trunk don't open up itself

Overall

If you need fast car and Euro style some car for daily and track, this is a good choice. Don't expect it will be cheap. Euro car tag come with premium price.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

May 21 2009

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

I took the 135i for a test drive and figured that I'ld be arrested very quickly. I then took the 128i for a drive. Ya I know it doesn't have the 300bhp but it does have 230bhp which is plenty for the daily stuff. I'm more into winding roads not straights. The power is there. The fuel consumption is fantastic for an engine of this size and considering my right foot issue. The comfort is all there as well. I've had the car for just under a year now and I have yet to remove the smile from my face. The car is small and short on space for passengers but from a driving standpoint everything is there for you to spend a day exporing your surroundings in comfort.

Cons

For me the car is actually a three seater. The seat behind me is a leather shelf. My wife is only 157 cm so a single passenger can sit in the rear seat. It's not really a con but like others have said you really have to stretch to find issue with this vehicle.

Overall

If you drive it you will want one.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

February 25 2009

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

This car will melt your face. There are cars that will go faster, but realistically you either-1) can't afford them (i.e. Ferrari) or 2) can't live with them as a daily driver (i.e. Lotus Elise). It's essentially a 3-series from the comfort and amenities standpoint. Having lived with it for 6 months I will say that as long as you leave the back seat for golf clubs or people you hate, it's like owning a sports sedan. I've owned a smorgasboard of performance vehicles and this is the first that has allowed me to drive to work in Buick-like comfort while also humiliating that obnoxious teenager in the Mitsu Evo.

Cons

If you drive a lot of gravel roads you will eventually need a kidney transplant - I have no problem because our roads are good but a Lexus it is NOT. Doors are longish (I'm really digging here). Constant evil laughter and demonic smile have convinced wife I'm possessed by the devil while driving this car.

Overall

Do not test drive this car unless you intend to buy it.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

January 21 2009

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

N.A

Overall

I had my 2009 not even 24 hours when on a busy california freeway I lost all power and the car dyed without warning and became a target for all vehicles in the fast lane behind myself and my young daughter and little dog. I was stranded and caused many near-misses for 45 minutes, it took 2 different tow trucks to get us off the busy highway and to a safe place.Then a 3rd tow truck to haul it to the dealership where I had just purchased it. It turned out that there was a defective gas gauge sensor that indicated the car had fuel . I spent countless phone calls and hours to both the dealership and North American BMW hearing promises of actual car replacement or refund from both the dealership and North American BMW...Lies!. They call it the "ultimate driving machine" Should be re-named the "ultimate dying machine".

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

December 18 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

handling on par with 3 series; looks good

Cons

i am not fat but seats are a little tight, seat belt straps are very hard to reach

Overall

i have driven both and if you like the stlye opt for the 135 for the acceleration

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

December 17 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Excellent performance, quick and fast, great handling, nice extras

Cons

plain dash, convertible is a bit noisy, large blind spot when backing

Overall

I went from a Mercedes 350SLK to the 135i. While I really like the hardtop convertible, the BMW is faster, more comfortable, better ride, better handling. This car is fun to drive, but it's also very comfortable. You get all the benefits of a small roadster with a comfortable ride and a back seat.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

December 13 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

acceleration, handling, quality construction, fun to drive

Cons

no spare tire, cup holder, cabin storage

Overall

This is my first BMW. I've had it for four months and put on 8,000 miles. It lives up to BMW's reputation as a well built, great handling car. To say it's fun to drive is an understatement. The in-line six with the twin turbos gives this car fantastic acceleration, and with the sport suspension, it corners like it's on rails. The fit and finish is perfect, inside and out. Even though it's small, it's far from an economy car (and I didn't buy it for it's economy). Because of the great performance I tend to drive it a bit harder than I might drive another car. With a light foot, I can average 27 MPG overall, with most of that highway driving. Otherwise, it comes in at 23 to 24 MPG. With the top down the front seats are comfortabe with controlled air flow. The back seats are a bit wild, but I imagine it's no different from other convertibles. With the top up it is very quiet, and I often forget that I'm driving a convertible. The trunk has a fair amount of space for a small convertible. And this being a four seater, the back seats give us overflow storage when we go on a trip. The cabin has limited storage space so I keep my CDs and GPS on the back floor when not in use. The brakes are large for the size of the car, but as a result, it gives the driver excellent control and stopping ability. The car is loaded with features which you can research elsewhere. I'm fond of the headlights that turn with the direction of the car (an option), the stability and traction control, and one touch control of the convertible top. One of the cup holders is in an awkward spot, but that's not a major issue. The ride is a bit hard at times, but expected (this is why I gave the car four stars for comfort). The only concern I have with the car is how it will handle in the snow and ice, given the rear wheel drive. I'll probably leave it home on snowy days. In the short time I've had the car I had a flat tire - I ran over a drill bit that punctured the tire. This car does not come with a spare, but instead has run-flat tires. A nice feature if you're not able or willing to change the tire. The down side is that if you run the tire for an extended period before repairing it, you'll need to buy a new tire. Overall, I love this car and have no regrets. I would buy it again today.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 26 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Fuel consumption is ok for me, I live in Germany and didnt buy the car to travel everywhere!

Cons

Havent had any issues so far, I knew what I was buying. I say test drive it before you buy it.

Overall

I am really happy with my purchase of the 2009 128i coupe. The car is spacious enough for me my wife and two little ones, and comfortable enough for a decent ride a couple hours away. I have hit the back roads in the mountains down in Odenwald, and have found that it handles just as good in these famous hills as it does on the Autobahn. Quick turns and down shifting for mountainous roads are no problem, and the pick up and go comes with ease. One of the best things about owning a BMW is the scream of the engine when you let her loose, it sounds like like a perfectly tuned machine, well for being a 230 horse power V6 it sounds as good as any V8 on the road, and I have personally tested it against the 550 and it will hold its own for a little while. All in all I say it is a great buy, just depends on what you want in a car. Like I said in the pros up top, test drive a vehicle before you buy it so you know what you are getting into. If you dont you might wind up like some people with something you dont want. My BMW is a beautiful piece of work and I get to spank the mustang V6's all day long.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 24 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Fast, good looking and fun to drive

Cons

small backseat

Overall

I went to look at a 328i BMW Vert and saw a 135i vert on the lot. It's price was less than the 328i and it had the same engine as the 335i, so I gave it a test drive. The car stole my heart with its effortless power, great handling and roomy front seat (I am 6'5). The roof goes down at the touch of a button and even though it is a soft top, it is relatively quiet when you drive under 80 mph. If you need a big backseat, look elsewhere. It has a small, narrow backseat that is okay for children, bags, and pets, but a 6 footer in the front would negate room for a 6 footer in the back. I have to say that I love this car. Fast, fun and more practical than a two seater. Also, unlike the 328i, you can fit luggage in the trunk with the top down.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 16 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Performance, Comfort, Apperance,

Cons

none

Overall

The drive and handeling is exspected from a BMW and it delivers, as I drivre the rough roads of Louisiana is surely delivers a clean ride and a performance that I can only say is far more than other sports sedans I have owned, the top down ride is pure enjoyment, would recomened this car any day of the week

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 15 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

I really like the sound system, full blast I can feel the beat.

Cons

is a bit loud engine wise

Overall

I bought this car so I can drive it around town, compact easy parking etc. I like the handling of the car. I've had it for about little over a month now. So far so good. I like the idea that I get to service the car every 15K or once a year, they cover maintenance for 4 yrs

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 11 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

135i outperforms E46 M3. 300 lb/ft of torque at 1400 rpms!

Cons

No Mechanical LSD. Electronically controlled slip works fine but not as sporty as mechanical.

Overall

Got about 7,000 miles on it. Overall the ride is a just a bit too harsh for daily driving. It's bareable but you'll find yourself thinking twice when aproaching pot holes or any imperfections in the road. It's like a mix of a E46 M3 and E92 335i.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 10 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Great looks, smooth Steptronic automatic transmission, powerful engine

Cons

I-Pod is temperamental, no other cons

Overall

My wife and I picked up the car in Munich in June taking advantage of the European Delivery Program, a very pleasant experience, well oranized and highly recommendable if you plan on traveling through Europe. And it saves $4,500 off the MSRP. We drove the car over 11 Alpine passes in Austria, Italy, France and Switzerland in two weeks (1,750 miles). The most thrilling experience was the drive up the Stilfser Joch in northern Italy with its 48 hairpin curves. The car's handling was just outstanding and the Steptronic feature performed flawlessly. The engine's power was more than ample, zooming by other cars and busses on steep mountain roads even in 10,000 ft. altitude , or on the Autobahn at 130mph. With the top down the trunkspace was OK for one big suitcase and smaller bags for camera etc . A second suitcase was stored on the backseat with the backrest in the down position to protect the leather seat. When we parked in questionable urban areas, we closed the top in 22 seconds and put the second suitcase also in the trunk. No big deal. We dropped off the car in Zurich and received it in Chicago 5-1/2 weeks later. The car's mileage is now 8,000 and except for a new I-Pod module I experienced no other trouble and enjoy driving this car every day. This is my fifth BMW and replaces a 1998 convertible 328i, which I drove without major repairs for 120,000 miles. After a great summer, too bad winter is coming to Chicago.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 8 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Reasonably priced, fun to drive, high ride quality, somewhat luxurious

Cons

Could be faster, more expensive than the Audi A3, where's the power?

Overall

Like many cars, the BMW 128i convertible has its ups and downs. Although it's not a super exotic race car, a 230 horsepower V6 engine under the hood gets the car to 60mph in a decent 7.3 seconds. What was more impressive than the 0 to 60mph run, however, was the backroad bombing. It's easy to make this car go pretty quick along highways or windy canyon roads, and with the top down, it's guarenteed to be a pretty entertaining convertible. The 08 128i convertible is neither expensive nor inexpensive for what it actually is. It starts at about $32,000 for 2008, which is more expensive than the Pontiac Solstice convertible and Audi A3, but considering what a fun little car it is, the 128i is worth the money, but not by much. Standard luxury features include power front seats, premium surround sound, leather-wrapped steering wheel, satellite radio, cruise control, and 6-disc CD changer. So it isn't a real elegant car, though for normal people, there are enough amenities to keep the driver happy and relaxed. So overall, I'd rate the 128i at an 86%, a B. It's a somewhat luxurious convertible that has high ride quality and is quite fun to drive, though the price isn't real low, and power and performance are limited. If you want more of everything, try the BMW 135i convertible.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 7 2008

Model

BMW 1 Series

Pros

Power, comfort, fun.

Cons

not yet.

Overall

It is so much fun to drive. It is not pricey at all compare to Audi A4 or TT etc. It drives so fast and smooth it is amazing. The kick sort of speak is a dream. If you are looking for a sport car, look no further.

2008 BMW 1-Series review

Date

November 3 2008

Model

BMW 1-Series

Pros

this car is amazing we really werent in the market for a new car, but seeing it in the showroom we had to have it... the handling, the style, the power, the comfort all the bells and whistles are all top notch. we have a 528 and know the quality hasn't dwindled. it's solid and definetely worth the money. the convertible is smooth and fast going down and very quiet when top is up. BMW has thought of everything there is nothing i wish this car had ...its all there!!

Cons

that we live up north and it will be stored for the winter

Overall

if you love BMW and want something fun and look hot driving it, this car is it!!

BMW 1-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph