FastCarsWiki.com

2009 Audi TT review

Date

June 24 2012

Model

Audi TT

Pros

It is very stylish, although there are some features that are a little too Porsche 911-ish. The interior is one of the best interiors I have ever seen. The seats and the steering wheel are shared with the R8. It is a very uncommon car unlike the Audi A4 and BMW 3 series. It is not likely that you will pull into a restaurant and see a similar car. I have the 17" wheels, which do not handle all that well in the curves. I would recommend the 19" wheels for the more spirited driver. The braking is exceptional and the AWD makes it a pleasure to drive in the snow with the right tires. The Audi MMI Entertainment and Navigation are nice and fairly intuitive.

Cons

The 3.2L engine seems underpowered and short on torque. Even with the manual transmission, I find the accelleration to be uneventful. The 17" wheels have too much sidewall and make the steering feel less than precise when cornering. The gas milage is not that great...17/24 for a 3.2L (The Corvette 6.2L gets 16/26 and has 180 more horses). The back seats are not really backs seats; even small children have very little leg room with an average size adult in the front seat. The BOSE sound system does not sound that great. The MMI/NAV system are mounted too low in the dash. The cup holder interferes with shifting the manual transmission.

Overall

Even with all of the Cons, the 2009 Audi TT was one of the very few sport coupes, which was available with AWD, Manual Trans and 6 cyl. engine. It is very comfortable and enjoyable to drive as long as you do not try to push it to sports car proportions like you would a BMW or Porsche. If you don't need the AWD and don't care about looking classy, go for the Nissan 370Z. Bang for the buck, you will get more thrills and driving excitement. If you do need the AWD, upgrade to the Audi TTS.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

February 8 2010

Model

Audi TTS

Overall

nice appearance, fast car, comfortable and fashionable. Its real price is bigger, 100000 euro in europe

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

December 17 2009

Model

Audi TT

Pros

lOOKS

Cons

Underpowered, turbo lag, not worth cost

Overall

Nice looking but too costly for such poor performance. Turbo lag is noticeable and overall power doesn't compare to others

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

December 7 2009

Model

Audi TT

Pros

It is a great car to drive and to leave with a valet and ask them to park it next to the door. They always do, because it shows they have classy cliente. I have had three. This is the best one by far. The last car I had was a M/B C300 and there is no comparison. It is faster, handles better and excellent braking. Mileage is 21 MPH on regular gas.

Cons

I am 6'1" (over weight by 35 pounds) so it is still a little tight to get in, but when I do get in, I have no regrets. The leather saeats do get warm when driving in the winter so I had to get a sheeps

Overall

It is the best value I have found by far. Of course, if I didn't have the means, it would be too expensive, as I wouldn't be able to justify the S series. Again, it is an exceptional toy/means of transportation, and an absolute joy to drive. I am 63 and love life, regardless of the day I have had, when I am driving home.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

November 16 2009

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Superb performance

Cons

Many rattles and vibrations

Overall

After only 12,000 miles the tires gave way and the rattles and vibrations began. Very scary knowing there is no spare, not even a doughnut. For this price it should not have rattles and laud vibrations. Something is very wrong and the Dealer doesn't seem to know what it is.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

July 25 2009

Model

Audi TTS

Pros

Very quick, lots of grip, superb handling, handsome inside and out, respectable gas mileage

Cons

Rear seats are a joke, unfriendly handling on rough roads, somewhat expensive, not a lot of options

Overall

Audi has been great with most of its cars, but one of its greatest achievements, besides the R8, is the TTS. Sure, it's a small car with only 265 horsepower, but it can still reach 60 mph in just 4.8 seconds, and can hit a top speed of 155 mph. And yes, its price tag is somehwat of a shocker, but all of what the TTS has to offer is worth all the money you put down for it. There a a few flaws. The rear seats can only fit 5th graders, Audi doesn't offer you a lot of options to add to the TTS, and the handling can get kind of rough when driving on rough roads. Overall, I would just dump your regular sports car and go for one of these masterpieces.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

July 15 2009

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Fuel Economy ~29+mpg combined; Handling/Performance; Engineering

Cons

Small back seat, but at least it has one!

Overall

From an M3 Owner/Engineer, this car is a blast to experience! Granted it's not an M3 (driver's dream), but it's close enough at 31MPG, and the turbo 'off-the-line' kick is just way fun! The Nav is fine, as is all of the techno features, including Nitrogen tires (helps MPG). Workmanship is solid down to the sound of the doors slam is a nice deep thud as opposed to the reverberation/echo from those asian and american models... This may not be the fastest sporty car I've owned, but it certainly has the best form, fit, function and character for the 21st Century! Go Audi.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

May 29 2009

Model

Audi TT

Pros

At first glance my most favorite feature is the sleek styling of my TT.

Cons

No dislikes at this time. I am still discovering how to incorporate all of the options into my daily commute.

Overall

The aggressive look, fast acceleration and tight handling are the reasons that I purchased my Audi TT with the S Line package. The MMI is awesome once you learn all of the intricacies of the system. I enjoy spirited driving with the paddle shifters in Sport mode. Driving with the top down is an absolute must during nice weather. Great job Audi on building the car of my dreams!!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

May 2 2009

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Extremely solid feel for a small sports car.

Cons

Back seat is a joke

Overall

It's a sports car, not a racer (Although I understand it can be turned into one fairly easily). It does what it's supposed to and does it very well. Handling is tight and solid. Suspension is firm but not jolting like some sports cars I've owned. The mostly useless back seats fold down to give you a large trunk area capable of handling two golf bags and then some. (I had an MX5 where my clubs had to ride in the passenger seat.) The surprising thing is I get more comments on this car than I did on my Corvette (02 coupe) and they're mostly from women. Anything that makes girls in their late teens or early twentys initiate a conversation with a senior citizen has something going for it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

April 7 2009

Model

Audi TT

Pros

It's a sports car you aren't ashamed of driving

Cons

You're paying $40k+ for an exotic VW GTi

Overall

Built on the VW Golf platform, sharing many parts with the VW GTi and Audi A3, the Audi TT 2.0T is far from a bargain. Looking at performance stats alone, this car is almost twice as much as it should be. 200 hp and FWD (or the obviously-an-after-thought AWD system) are competitive with the Civic Si, not the BMW Z4 that is much more close to the TT's price. So what do you get for all this extra money? Well, for starters, you get a beautiful exterior. Unlike the squished-minivan looks of the GTi, the TT has the lines of a true sports coupe. It's not as bubbly, or feminine, as the last TT. Instead, it's much more refined, more mature. The front is low and wide, a bit aggressive, but very subtle. Flared wheel arches give a sense of power, but the smooth side panels keep it in check. The rear hatch swoops back in Porsche 911-esque style. The taillights have a unique, and absolutely stunning, 3D appearance. The retractable spoiler changes the car from svelte to serious. Certianly, no one would dare call it boring or vulgar. You walk up and open the pillarless door, only to be greeted by one of the best interiors on sale today - regardless of price. Seats are shared with the R8, and the steering wheel is shared with the R8 and Gallardo. In fact, the TT shares parts with cars costing many times more - door handles, side mirrors, climate control, the list goes on. Make no mistake, the interior of the TT is a wonderful place to be, entirely focused on the driver. And it should be. Driving the TT is the best part of the car. By using aluminum in the chassis, Audi were able to keep the TT light - despite the additional luxury bits. This chassis allows the TT to be very stiff - resulting in the power being put down so efficiently that you'll swear it's a more powerful car. Add to that the speed of the S-Tronic transmission and you end up with a car that can accelerate faster than the manual-equipped competition. The steering sacrifices initial feel for a trick power steering system that makes the steering lighter at slower speeds. You'll hate it on a hairpin, but love it every time you have to park. Additionally, the car has a strong tendency to squat mid-corner. When you turn in sharply, the front end bites well. Then, as you begin to power-on, the car goes worryingly light for a moment, before squatting down and pulling itself from the corner. It takes some getting used to, but once you trust that it's not going to fly off while you transition through the corner, it's a very competent sports car. Best of all, the TT has none of the image problems of similar cars. It's no longer a hairdresser's car. It's not boring like the A3, childish like the GTi, or vulgar like the Z4. It's grown-up. A true gentleman's (or ladies') sports coupe. And try finding that for anything less than V8 Vantage money.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

February 11 2009

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Stunning design inside & out/ superior handling vs previous TT/ daily driver useful in snow

Cons

low on power/ poor reliability especially w/ electronic items/ trans issues/ brakes replaced

Overall

Having driven the previous version of the TT, I can honestly say this generation is superior in almost every way. The way it drives is excellent. Steering feel is second to none and the same for the brakes, when they are working that is. The engine is eager to rev but lacks power on the highway. With 4 passengers and a full tank of gas, the little engine struggles to keep up with highway traffic. That being said, the biggest issue I have with my 2009 model, now 4 months old is reliability. Within the first month, the power window regulator burned out, the climate controls were replaced and the central locking locked me out and would not open with the remote. The transmission was reprogrammed because it was shifting very rough. It felt like it was slipping and the dealer replaced the whole unit with no question. On the 4th month, the right front rotor became warpped. Both rotors were replaced due to wear issues. In all I like the car and the way it looks. It is easy to drive and can be used as a daily driver. With all the problems I have had though I would like to trade it in for something reliable and would not recommend this car. Good Luck

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

February 6 2009

Model

Audi TT

Pros

I love this car for the look, price, performance, and value.

Overall

If I have to buy a sport coupe this is the one. I did. All the people that I know love this car. I love the bluetooth system, appearance, and the price tag I got it for.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

December 21 2008

Model

Audi TT

Pros

32 MPG on freeway, Major head turner

Cons

Bluetooth could be better

Overall

I originally went to the Audi dealership looking for a 2006 Mark 1 TT. The pictures of the Mark 2 TT didn't really impress me much compared to the unique styling of the Mark 1. What really surprised me was how my impression of the Mark 2 completely changed when I finally saw it in person. The combination of the new wider body and the aggressive design of the headlights gives the Mark 2 much more "presence" than the Mark 1- which really looks rather tame afterwards. Anyway, the 2.0 liter engine is peppy and the car responds at the speed of thought. I've never felt the need to floor it while trying to accelerate to get up to speed on the freeway. Once when I was accelerating onto the freeway to match the speed of other traffic, I happened to look down on my speedometer and was shocked to notice I had climbed to 80 MPH without even thinking about it. The lighter body weight of the car coupled with the smaller engine also gives it excellent gas mileage. On an 15 mile freeway trip I can easily get 29 MPG. On a 35 mile trip I've been able to just hit 32 MPG. The AWD handles snow very well though the lower ride of the car can result in the bottom of the car grinding against mounds of hardened snow- which sounds kind of painful. Comparing this to a BMW 330CI, the dual-clutch S-Tronic shifting is brilliant and does not suffer from the lurches that are typical on the BMW. The suspension also feels more dampened so the ride is more comfortable, but it isn't springy like a sedan. If you get this car I also recommend getting the chrome exhaust tips- it really helps make the car look more "complete". The bluetooth works with the iPhone although the first time you use it, it will take a long time to download the phone books if you have a lot of entries. Also cycling through entries is a pain if you have a long list. Other than that it works brilliantly. The audio is loud and clear on both the send and receive side.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

November 20 2008

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Amazing car. It will do 29 miles to the gallon depending on your spend

Cons

Excellent breaks, got to watch out for holes if you take the 19' inch wheels

Overall

This is for me the greatest car I've ever had The 2.0 TFSi does loss a little advantage on the Highway after you past 90 miles per hour because of the 4 cylinder engine but comes in handy in cities. I recommend to do a ECU Tuning chip performence which will give you an extra 50 horsepower and 70 pounds of torque which will make your car more powerful then the 3.2L V6 and save you around 7,000 dollars.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

October 6 2008

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Very solid feel and comfortable ride for a small sports car.

Cons

Paddle shifters take some getting used to.

Overall

The best feature as far as I'm concerned is that it has a flip-down back seat that gives you a very large cargo space. (Mines the hatchback) Plenty of room for a couple of golf bags or enough luggage for a long road trip. The ride is surprising for a little sports car, especially after having a C5 Corvette and a MX5 as my last two cars. Very quiet. The Vette could deafen you over grooved pavement. Both of the last two could jar your spine on a sharp bump like uneven pavement sections.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

September 30 2008

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Absolutely amazing design - the car is a work of art, in which most car companies can't claim this

Cons

none

Overall

What is surprising, and also pretty cool, I have the only 2008 Audi TT in my city, but this can present a problem also, as you can imagine. The car is fast, has great acceleration, handles better than anything I have ever driven, and looks beautiful. The detail put into the design of the car is outstanding with no flaws in vehicle lines of "flow." The exhaust sounds great, mean, and speaks only business. I bought the coupe, in which the rear seats fold down creating a very large trunk - many critics say the trunk is small in this car, but having the ability to fold down the rear seats, I am able to fit a bicycle in the trunk - imagine that! This car is for practical day to day use: large trunk, quattro, and amazingly good on gas for a V6 (31 mpg highway over a 2hr trip). Oh, also, I've heard an abundant amount of complaints by many critics about the small and impractical rear seats - ask yourself this question: "How many sports cars have a rear seat, let alone one that folds down?"

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Audi TT review

Date

September 18 2008

Model

Audi TT

Overall

this car is a great car coming from a great company. although it looks similar to the audi a4 this car is way better.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Audi TT 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph