FastCarsWiki.com

2006 Audi TT review

Date

December 14 2013

Model

Audi TT

Pros

The look and style is absolutely beautiful and just about everyone agrees with that. I think this first generation has a timeless look. The AWD Quattro corners like its on rails . The Bose radio sounds good. The Zeon headlights make night driving much easier as I'm older.

Cons

I bought the my 06' tt Quattro V6 used with 43279 mile on it . I've had the car 3 years and 3 months and it now has 80,000 miles. I like the look of the car inside and out , It handles like its on rails . I'm very disappoint with Quality . I've had the car at the dealer 11 times since I owned it with various problems costing at least 10 k in repairs. I think two costly repairs were miss diagnosed. In my opinion the real truth in German engineering is make a car beautiful, overly complex mechanics that fail much to often, and are extremely costly to repair. I can even understand the costly repairs .but why so often .I've had Datsun and two Nissan's, minor problems at over 100k miles.

Overall

I wouldn't buy another Audi, and not sure if I can keep pumping money into this one. My sister has different Audi , she feels the same way.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

August 4 2013

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Classic design that makes me smile every time I look at it. Power enough to not be intimidated by traffic. Great sound system. Transmission that lets me drive the way I'm feeling at the moment. Great gas mileage. Trunk area is spacious for size of car.

Cons

Brakes squeak sometimes. Cup holders not convenient.

Overall

Bought new in 2006, can't think of any car I had rather have!

2006 Audi TT review

Date

September 30 2012

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Stability in all conditions, rain, ice, snow, dry pavement. Quatro (AWD) is the most useful function I have found. I have driven my '06 TT S line roadster cross country (Seattle to Orlando) 3 times. 800 mile days are comfortable, even in a small car. I have upgraded brakes, intake and exhaust, but plan to go no further. 25+ oh highway, even better if I run at 60 mph. 23 mpg overall. After 68,000 mi. I still love this car! (3.2 l V6 with DSG is awesome)

Cons

brakes rotors needed to be upgraded to slotted (to decrease water film)

Overall

68,000 miles, drive daily now in Florida, Love this car!

2006 Audi TT review

Date

March 25 2010

Model

Audi TT

Pros

The car has performed better than I ever expected. The styling, options for seating and handling are what makes me keep it. Although its not super expensive it show a stage up on most other cars.

Cons

If anything, (and there is very little one can dislike here)-- perhaps the factory brakes. I have had after market brake pads and rotors installed, that perform better then stock.

Overall

Over all I have driven and owned two other cars I feel in this class or near it. The Nissan Z 350, big motor and gas hog (sold it) and the BMW. Both take a second seat to the Audi tt.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

August 8 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Style leader (350z & eclipse imitated the tt)

Cons

none

Overall

Awesome car. people of all ages love the TT. Little race car is quick, reliable, and great mpg.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

August 6 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

It's an Audi, has good MPH for a sports car

Cons

slower audi understeraring beast

Overall

It's an audi so its has a great interior and turns many heads. But understears way too much... Get the brand new Rtt (combo betweeen R8 and TT.)

2006 Audi TT review

Date

June 12 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

lots of power

Cons

the car broke down every 15 days

Overall

I had the car for like six months, I got to drive it for two month because its was always in the shop.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

June 11 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

handles well, adequate room for a big guy

Cons

No complaints

Overall

I got a used 04 TT (3.2L 250HP, DSG transmission, convertable, Yellow w/ black interior) several months ago, and have driven about 6000 miles so far - commuting to work, a few road trips. I absolutely love the car. It has plenty of power for freeway driving, is comfortable for a big guy (6'3", 230 lbs), and it is a total kick in the pants. I figured with a short wheelbase, it'd be darty and feel unstable, but it's exactly the opposite - it feels quite solid, and as the speed increases, it feels even more stable. I'm getting about 25 MPG overall, even with frequent stop & go freeway traffic. The DSG transmission is smooth and silky. I usually leave it in automatic mode, but if I need to accelerate quickly I'll put it into manual mode and let the RPMs build, then manually shift with the paddles. Above 3000 RMPs it takes off pretty fast. Other sports cars (Honda S2000, Porsche Boxster) are supposed to have more power, but my TT has all the acceleration I need, and I actually fit into the car, unlike the Miata, the S2000, the 300Z, the BMW Z3 or Z4, etc. If something happened to my TT, I'd go buy the same thing again, no questions. The only thing I might change would be to find one with the cool baseball leather seats, but I'm not unhappy at all with the standard interior. My wife's favorite feature is the heated seats. She cranks them up even when it's warm ouside. Works great, because it keeps her warm enough when I put the top down.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

May 17 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Great eye appeal and manuevering. Lots of get up and go.

Cons

Wish there was a sun roof option

Overall

The TT delivers on all promises. I have a special edition with increased horsepower and love its get up and go. Definitely economical in addition to its performance and looks.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

May 17 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Great mileage and performance

Cons

70 mph crash and seatbelt shoulder strap failed.

Overall

I had a 2001 TT. We had wanted it for two years after we first saw it in Europe. We got the personalized plates and everything. At 21,000 miles, I was hit from behind by a drunk driver in California at 70 mph. He shoved me into the back of and SUV and sandwiched the car. The car did an excellent job protecting me; however, at the moment of the second impact the seatbelt shoulder strap failed to restrain me and I hit my face against the steering wheel. This telescoped my nose and left the Audi logo on my forehead and ruptured three disks in my neck. This was a deal breaker and we'll never get another Audi ever again. Sad thing is, almost the exact same thing happend to my uncle almost 20 years earlier. I guess it has to happen to you before you can appreciate the memory loss and physical therapy.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

May 17 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

everything

Cons

timing belt went out at 70,000

Overall

I would like to take this opportunity to say I had a 2001 tt quatro that was red and beautiful.. it had 70,000 miles when something happened to the timing belt...it was going to cost 10,000 to fix..it makes me sick it didn't have a scratch on it and I really miss it more than I thought you could miss an object.....

2006 Audi TT review

Date

May 11 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Styling

Cons

Poor performance and spent more time in the shop than in my garage

Overall

I loved the looks and it was comfortable to sit in but was stranded on the road one too many times

2006 Audi TT review

Date

March 28 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Very sophisticated design, max torque at very low RPM, pretty lenghth, easy driving

Cons

some noise in the car

Overall

Almost the only car with a design (typically German) essentially technical and sophisticated. One of the few car with a reasonable lenghth (like first Porsches, first Alpine Renault, Karmann Ghia, etc.)

2006 Audi TT review

Date

March 28 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Awsome brakes and ergonomics.

Cons

Required early service on timing belt and water pump

Overall

I love my little TT, but if you buy one used be sure the timing belt and water pump service is done before you hit 70k, not the 100k service interval recommended by Audi. The stock water pump impeller is like the BMW (plastic) and is known to fail, but the replacements are metal impellers so that fixes it! Other than that these are awesome cars and are highly under priced in my opinion. If you like the turbo drive you will love this car, it pulls well on the interstate due to the high RPM's you turn at 70 mph, just push the pedal and it goes!

2006 Audi TT review

Date

March 28 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

cool design

Cons

mechanical problems

Overall

I dealt with many mechanical problems during my short lease period and therefore I would be unlikely to lease or buy another Audi. Great styling and design do not make up for the constant maintenance problems that plague these cars.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

March 27 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Looks, Feul econ. Interior design

Cons

Reliability, weak power, integrity

Overall

I loved the look and the interior design. Bought mine in 2001 but it was a quattro 180 coupe. I put a chip in it to give it some more horsepower (210) But due to its weight the car just didnt have IT. Defective Parts throughout vehicle Coolant pump Feul Sensor Feul injection and assembly was done in Mexico! Also the Glove comparment is designed to fail +900$ repair! Ridiculous and handles like a VW Bug! Its pretty but expensive to maintain Get ready to meet your second family. ..... THe Audi Maintainance staff!

2006 Audi TT review

Date

March 27 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Great looks... in and out... great solid ride

Cons

Black paint...scratches and stains easily

Overall

This is one of the nicest... fun cars I've ever had (including an Austin Healy 3000)... Its quick... responsive... solid... and beautiful to look at... The paint, however is a disgrace considering the price I paid...

2006 Audi TT review

Date

February 25 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Very steady car, feels great to drive and fun at corners

Cons

Weight; Trunk space

Overall

Superb unsurpassed design characteristics and engineering perfection. The last concept car of the 20th century that found its way to production. Own one since Jan 2003. Mostly resting in garage, minimal use in the city and good care. Country side driving is pure fun for all senses. Don't want to sell ever. Only annoying issue is the cover for the hood which needs to be carried in the already small trunk and fits manually. Beware of flat tires. The replaced one does NOT fit in the trunk but diagonally AFTER you remove everything else and hand to your passenger to hold.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

February 18 2007

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Everybody looks, unmistakable styling, fabulous fit and finish both inside and out, great warranty, great sound system, fun to drive, owned for one year and not a single manufacturers defect, comfortable seating (albeit only for two), deep throaty sound on acceleration, lots of power, great handling. I have owned Mercedes and BMW and they don't compare in build quality and service to Audi in my area. Half decent in the snow....for a sports car..but watch the low clearance in ruts.

Cons

Mild blind spots with top up, Audi's navigation system needs to be updated for 2007. Otherwise I love this car!

Overall

I really do have to wipe peoples face prints off the windows when I leave it in a public place. This is a great car.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

December 5 2006

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Good fuel economy, awesome power and great stability, great feel drivin 6power mannual transmission

Cons

Only suits for 2

Overall

Driving Auti TT is cool and fun. One will surely enjoy its luxuary but sports drive. Goes smooth with strong and stable body. Interior and the front seats are pretty neat. Shape steals the show...

2006 Audi TT review

Date

November 27 2006

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Peppy (V6 250hp DSG), Shifting, Looks, Fun Factor, AWD and Convertible!

Cons

Tight fit if you are tall, price point compared to competition

Overall

I bought a brand new 2005 V6 3.2 DSG TT and absolutely love it. This is my first Audi after having owned BMW, Lexus, Mercedes, MG, Toyota, and Jaguar. The car has great eye-catching looks and is really peppy and fun to drive (granted I am not a die hard speed freak). It corners well and has great 0-60 torque. It also has a very active owners group. I get lots of unsolicited compliments on the car and the DSG transmission really rocks. The service that I have gotten from Audi has been very good. I heard spotty things about Audi service before buying it so I was a bit concerned about this aspect. So far, I've had 2 trouble-free years of operation and service. I'd recommend this car to anyone who wants a convertible but also may have needs for AWD. It drives well in the snow with the right tires. Speaking of tires, the factory tires won't last long. I got less than 15K miles on mine before they were almost bald and I am not a maniac driver. I replaced with new Michelins to see if I get better performance out of this set. OEM tires were Continental Contis. Overall, this is a great automobile that has a low overall cost of ownership, a great safety rating, and a fun factor that can't be beat. You also can get pretty good deals on models that are 1-2 years old so shop around if you are looking for a used TT.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

November 3 2006

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Great Fuel

Cons

NONE

Overall

Best car i have ever ridden in my LIFE!!!!!! Smooth ride, and sleek look make me look rich even though i'm not!!!

2006 Audi TT review

Date

October 4 2006

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Good fuel economy, fast enough, good handling

Cons

Replace the performance tires.

Overall

I replaced 18 in performance tires w/Nokian tires (all weather) and drive it year round. Great car in all weather. Excellent Quality. No problems.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

September 23 2006

Model

Audi TT

Pros

29.9MPG in 25K miles using the cheap gas. Just keep on the gas and off the brakes.

Cons

You have to keep the revs up or it won't pull hard.

Overall

Here's how to drive one of these a long way, cheap: Buy a certified pre-owned 3-4 years old with 30-40K miles. Cost is about $20-23K. Great warranty through 50K miles or 4 years. Then good warranty and pricy service every 10K miles up to 6 years or 100K miles. Sell just before it's out of warranty for $14-16K. Do it right and you can drive it worry free for 60K miles for $6000. That's like a Kia. Now the driving: Find some mountians, get the turbo boost up and keep it there. It's all the grip you need, and some of the most fun you can have. Looks great in a coupe. Don't get a convertible unless you're a girl.

2006 Audi TT review

Date

September 3 2006

Model

Audi TT

Pros

Special Edition Looks Great

Cons

Heavy

Overall

Just picked the car up this week. Great comments from admirers. Car looks as good as it drives. It's my third TT (1st-180 coupe, 2nd-225 convertible quattro). Definitely the best of the three. Stands out from the crowd (especially in red/black). Can't wait to take it for a long weekend. Great toy especially after being dumped recently.

Audi TT 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph