FastCarsWiki.com

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

December 7 2013

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

The longer I own this beautiful motorcar, the more I love it. As Keats wrote, "a thing of beauty is a joy forever." The appearance is aging gracefully- those simple classic lines and proportions look better every year while contemporary Italian, German, and American competitors look stale. The quality of the materials, finish, and engineering is exceptional - the car is rock solid with no nasty plastic bits to become brittle and fall off. Most of all, the driving experience is 100% delightful and never fails to make me smile - every element is designed to touch the senses and feel (and sound, smell, look...) wonderful.

Cons

It's expensive, it isn't especially economical, and the Aston's balance, sensuous feel, great sounds, and exciting experience took precedence over producing a few tenths of a second here and there on the track. That said, do you want to be the guy at the party talking about the numbers a test driver got with your car in a magazine - or would you like to have the car that feels better to drive and that everyone at the party wants to ride in? Oh, and get the manual - not the semi-automatic Sportshift which ruins the car.

Overall

Owning an Aston Martin, at least this one, is a dream come true that's actually better than you expect - a rare thing in life.. It's not for everyone: If you're the kind of person who likes to brag about numbers, you won't understand the Aston. If you're dream car is filled with gadgets and covered from head to toe with flashy wings and scopes then this isn't for you. But if you understand and appreciate the Aston's exquisite poise, quality, feel, and design, then this modern interpretation of the classic Aston Martin formula will make you very happy.

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

April 25 2009

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Unbelievable power and control

Cons

Ride a bit rough for a non-ethusiast!

Overall

I have owned my Vantage for 7 months and I love it. Everytime I look at the car I fall in love again...it is both musclar and elegant. Everytime I get behind the wheel and punch the gas pedal that feeling of raw power and accelleration provides the same rush I felt the first time I got behind the wheel. I can't say enough about how much I love this car!

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

November 10 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

I recently bought a N400 and love it. I also own a GT-3RS Porsche and the Aston is a perfect car for long trips that I just did in NAPA 2400 miles that were great. It gets lots of looks and it handles great!

Cons

Transmission downshifting is strange at times, it searches for lower gears in the automatic mode. It could use a little more Horsepower.

Overall

Love the car!

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

August 22 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Chic's love it

Cons

Chic's love it

Overall

Great for the open roads. Handles well!! Great sounding car!! I love the features. Very handsome car. Very smooth riding car. I was happily surprised by that. Very smooth excelleration. Very nice sound system. of course i had to upgrade it. I like how low it is to the ground.

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

August 2 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Roadster

Pros

Unique on the road , Beautiful ,and eye catching

Cons

Power is unpredictable and no park button

Overall

DB9 is the way to go. Fast and perdictable power. The vantage is a semi automatic and the grear changing creates lack of confidence in the power to change lanes or even start of fast. No park button caused you to need to put in Nutral and emergency break, might forget and cause rolling damage.

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 23 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

The Chics

Cons

Gas Prices

Overall

I actually just got my first real sports car in my opinion. As soon as I got of my AMG CL class the Aston Martin was a clear choice for me. Everything about this car is hot and the chic stock has so elevated. I live in NY so I don't really open it up in the city, but when I drive back and forth to Philly a few state troopers know me by first name now.

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 20 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

I love the style of this vehicle! And it drives wonderfully. It gets better gas milliage than a Bentley does too. I like that you can get an ipod doc. in the car too. Very useful. The seats are wonderful. Great power and can go pretty fast. All in all i would recomend this to anyone!

Cons

Well its kinda expensive (worth it), And it doesn't have the best gas milliage (what sports cars do?). But other than that I love it!!!!

Overall

Great, I love everything except the gas price and the price of the car itself! Comftorable seats, nice design, great drive, and definatly easy to handle! Totally recomend it!

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 14 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Appeal factor is high

Cons

Poor Fuel Economy, Low HP for the money, finding someone to service it

Overall

I would prefer roughly 475 HP for this type of car and price range. I was rather disappointed with the 380 HP. Then again, most drivers of this car can not handle what it has.

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 13 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Nice, slick apperance, very comfortable, sporty and luxurious.

Cons

High price to maintain.

Overall

I think this car is amazing, I drive mine on weekends by the lake, to the club, and also just to take a drive, I highly recommend this car to anyone who can afford it.

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 6 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Look, sound & unique

Cons

too much attention

Overall

by far the most attention i have had in a car! When i am not enjoying the sound of this V8 roar like no other i am constantly answering question and smiling as camera phones and fingers point at me on the freeway and local streets. My girl hates all the attention and prefers to ride in the porsche! I have red with black interior and red stitching and its the most beautful car you will ever see (albeit briefly as i am flying past). Peel out at every light, let the engine out the cage on every straight away and pull in the office with a smile on my face - now thats a everyday super car!!!

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 6 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

The best looking car on the road. MPG what you would expect for V8.

Cons

Shifts hard when cold, perfect after about 1-2 miles.

Overall

I have owned mine for about 8 months and absolutely love it. I am not a Porshe fan, too hard of a ride. The AM has a solid ride and she takes the corners great, the DB9's back end slid around when I took corners. She has alot of computers onboard so you can't red line the engine- a very good thing. Lower shift ratio - first will put you into the 4000rpm @ 20mph, takes some getting used to . When she opens up at 4400 rpms she sounds amazing. Totally worth the sticker tag $.

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

June 23 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Beautiful lines. Made my traded in Porsche look like a turd when parked side by side!

Cons

Shifter is a little clunky until it warms up.

Overall

Quite simply the most beautiful car I have ever owned. The hand stitched leather is a work of art as is the rest of the interior. The exhaust note is music to the ear to any car enthusiasts. Look up the car on Youtube and listen for yourself. After 20 plus years of Porsches I'm not going to say this is a better sports car. It's different. Apples and oranges. Although I have only put 1500 miles on the car so far, every one of those miles put a smile on face that made my wife most uncomfortable.

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

June 23 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Good fuel economy

Cons

the ride is rough when going fast

Overall

This is an excellent car! The ride is smooth when going slow, but that factor changes while speeding. lol lol. But....this is certainly an excellent car!!!

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

June 22 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Outstanding handling. The finest interior in a car today

Cons

Poor MPG, and a little over priced for todays market.

Overall

Allthough I only got to test this car in Hamburg Germany for a short time. I found it thrilling to drive. The interior of the car was a dream. Do not look for alot of room, as the concept of the inside is almost cockpit inspired, I found the shifting of the transmission smooth, and the only other thing I noticed was the air condtion was not very cold. There are other cars on the market for about 40k less that if you close your eyes, you could not tell them apart, allthough I would not suggest closing your eyes when driving..lol Yours truly Wolfgang Mueller

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

June 21 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

I have had mine for 2 years and its as good on gas as any other V8 car

Cons

Cockpit just slightly cramped, but very comfortable

Overall

This car is an EVERYDAY car, unlike all other exotic models. Snow, rain, hail, 100 degree heat, NO PROBLEM at all. (,900 miles and climbing. AM built these cars for English weather. It looks better than the DB9 because its lower and wider, it corners better than most Porsches, and these cars are HARD TO GET. For the money, its the best luxury sports car you can own,..........if you can find one, Ha!

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

June 20 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Best Car you can get for the money the sound it makes!!

Cons

GAS!!!!!!!

Overall

Very torque'y car, handles way better than the 911 turbo and get more attention. Not the fastest car to drive but its awesome. The attention to detail from the inside and out adds to its classiness.

2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

May 21 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Roadster

Pros

Excellant pick up, fuel economy to be expected, great features

Cons

body style could be better, go for more tech features

Overall

For the money, I think more technology could be added to the car. It is very comfortable sitting and driving, however, gas prices and its gas milage doesn't allow for long trips across the country side. If I had a choice, I would buy again, but I would only recommend to people if more "gee wiz" gadgets were incorparated in new models.

Aston Martin V8 Vantage 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph