FastCarsWiki.com

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 26 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

beautiful to look at , great performance, fit and finish excellent

Cons

nothing

Overall

10 ,10, 10

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

April 22 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

Almost everything. Exhaust, styling, stereo, power, comfort, and handling.

Cons

Nav stinks. pop-up is cool, but it is difficult to use, and a greater pain to manuver within the system itself. Also it does a bad job of finding anything. I carry a hand held garmin for back up.

Overall

Overall the car is great! Most people dont even know what I am driving. I use it almost every day. Really comfortable, but it does go through quite a bit of gas. I get about 11 mpg. Outside of that, no complaints, except for the GPS.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

March 25 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

Most beautiful car on the road. Stylish, yet not overly pretentious. Relatively rare.

Cons

If it takes more HP for some to favourably compare the Aston to Porsches and Ferraris, then perhaps it needs a bit more power.

Overall

I owned 5 Porsches before purchasing this Aston. The last Porsche was a C4S with X51 package. Perhaps the Aston doesn't have as much raw power as the C4S, but overall it is a much better driving experience. Steering, brakes, ergonomics, comfort, fit and finish... all first rate.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

March 21 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

The car is visually stunning, rides and handles well and is beautifully made.

Cons

Fuel economy not great; power adequate but not a Porsche Turbo by any means; expensive.

Overall

Finally, someone has taken Porsche on in the niche they've owned for thirty or so years and done a fine job. While more expensive and not as fast as the current Carrera S, the Vantage is plenty quick, makes the 911 look ordinary, and provides driving pleasure and charisma no 911 has had since the last of the air-cooled cars in the late 90s. Build quality, finish and materials are first rate. Also makes the best noises this side of a vintage V12 Ferrari. On the negative side, outward visibility takes some learning, since there's about 4 feet of the nose that is invisible to the driver and rear quarter vision is mirrors only. Luggage space is marginal, but golf clubs will fit and that's not really what these cars are about, anyway. Sportshift transmission is as good as similar arrangements used by Ferrari, BMW, etc., and works well in fast driving with nifty computer controlled throttle blips on downshifts, but still a bit jerky around town even in comfort mode. Now could we have another 75 or so hp?

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

March 6 2008

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Great looking and sounding vehicle. Voluminous color/interior combinations with full leather.

Cons

Power is good, not great. Expensive car, but thats what sets it apart.....

Overall

Paid $27,500 off sticker for 13 month old car with every available option. Worth shopping around 'till you find the one you want at the right price. The 2008 dropped the antenna and added digital sound components, but not worth the new car cost for just these two items. Shifts and drives like a comfort car, not a rough sports car. Wouldn't compare to a high end Porsche, they are very different cars; not the Porsche power but lots more creature comforts and you don't feel like there are so many on the road!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

November 30 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Roadster

Pros

Sound and vision!

Cons

Fit and finish, interior

Overall

The headline here is that this is an extremely satisfying car to own and drive. Its looks are second to none. Its engine noise is Armegeddon. And unlike so many other cars, even those in its price class, it is extremely exclusive. You just don't see many Vantages. Drawbacks? Well, don't look for the last iota of fit and finish on the interior. There is more than a bit of a whiff of amateur hour about the interior finish. That's not to say it isn't darn good -- it is. Its just that competition has driven the bar up so high that a little outfit like Aston Martin just can't quite keep up. Some of the controls are in absurd and hard-to-reach places. The doors seem to lift up when they open and the door handles, although clever, are actually a bit awkward to use. And purists will tell you that, for its price, the car is underpowered relative to competing Porsches and BMWs. It's also a big-feeling car in terms of the riding experience. I find that the interiors of Caymans and 911s are unbelievably tacky for the price that Porsche is asking, but you forget about that once you start driving -- you just whip the car around and your mind is elsewhere. The Aston has a nicer interior, but it feels bigger and heavier and not nearly as tossable. I could be biased. I like small stuff and I don't need soft supple leathers massaging my fanny. Maybe I'll just stick with my Mini Cooper S and my Lotus Elise. :-)

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

November 5 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Roadster

Pros

Beautiful eye candy, comfortable cabin, adequate equipment

Cons

A bit noisy, not for those lacking in agility re. egress, and stupid location of park brake

Overall

There's no doubt that the styling is superb - the baby Aston is easily the most gorgeous car on the road. And behind the wheel it almost lives up to its curb appeal. But Aston Martin wanted to be different for the sake of being different and the results are mixed - sometimes OK and sometimes really irritating. The silly glass needles on the main dials are hard to see when the sun is coming in over your shoulder and the fact that they go backwards (anti-clockwise) is also irritating. The phone keypad is arranged in two vertical columns, which means you can never dial-by-feel because no other phone system in the world is arranged like this. So you have to look, which means taking your eyes off the road while driving. Not good. Not good at all. Fortunately Bluetooth helps here. But the most stupid thing is the park brake handle location. What idiot thought it would be clever to put it between the driver's door and the door sill? I bruised myself for three days before working out how to lift myself out the car with sufficient clearance to avoid the protruding handle. Huge mistake and typical of that latent British desire to be different just for the sake of being different. I suppose that because they still drive on the wrong side of the road they think everything should be the wrong way around... So basically the cockpit is a bit of a mess, ergonomically, and frankly if I could afford it I'd send it to Japan for them to re-work totally. The Acura RL or the Lexus LS460 interiors beat the Aston hands-down in terms of usability and aesthetics. On the road it's a better story. I like the computer-controlled shifters better than the manual transmission (no left dead-leg in heavy commute traffic, for example) but the car feels like it needs a bit more muscle. My car is scheduled for the ProDrive enhancements (which were not available when I first ordered it) and hopefully these will make it a bit more competitive with the Porsche 911 and (hate to say it) Corvette. But even so it's a lovely car, though visibility is limited front and back. Back-up and front-side parking radar is really helpful here. And, as everyone and their dog says, the sound of the exhausts is lovely. If I owned AML I'd focus on upgrading the interior, borrowing as many tricks from the Japanese as I could, but I'd not touch the exterior at all because it's already perfect. This car is not exactly a joy to own but it is a stimulating ride. And of course it's very distinct.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

September 26 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

Most beautiful convertible in its class--better than any Porsche or Mercedes CL/SL, and even the Bentley Continental GTC. Brisk and responsive handling with very quick acceleration although another 25-30 horsepower would be a nice luxury. Interior is very modern and elegant, and the car overall just reeks class!

Cons

Without the TUBI exhaust, the engines only purrs below 4000rpms, but otherwise growls and sounds just awseome at higher rpms.

Overall

One of the best sports cars in the market right now. You can quote all the horsepower and 0-60 figures that you want, but the bottom line is the raw emotion you feel while driving these high-end vehicles, and there are very few cars out there that can compete with this Aston. Plus, when the valet parks your car among all the others out there, which one do you think he will leave right out in front? That's right.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

September 6 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Roadster

Pros

Just a beautiful car

Cons

a beautiful car, get used to the attention it draws...

Overall

got this instead of a Porsche 911 and couldn't be happier. It's got the performance and the looks. I believe that the AMV8 is on par with the Porsche on performance. Truly speaking, the only true way to really appreciate the performance of these cars is to drive it at the autobahn in Germany... well, thats a few thousand miles away.... When you're sitting in the car, the sheer luxury, instrument, leather, start button, and the other details are just incredible. While I respect the Porsche and the Porsche fan's enthusiasm, it simply doesn't have the performance matched with the refined look, class, beauty and luxe appeal. Besides, there's just too many Porsche on the road while the AM is still rather unique and exotic.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

September 4 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

My girlfriend and I each have one, she is a hotty so I bought her one as well, however, she prefers her 750Li BMW. I love this car but like my Maybach a little better

Cons

Nothing

Overall

Excellent car, gets lot's of looks, especially from the ladies when I am driving it (:-D)

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

August 27 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

Stunning styling. Most beautiful car on the road.

Cons

Could use a little more power.

Overall

Special driving experience.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

August 13 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

Style !!! much more of a statement than any Porsche much more class than any Ferrari. Engine Sound!! not too loud, not too soft. look to everything about the car looks perfect (even if it isn't) fit & Finish is very high. good boot space, Yes you can put clubs in the car. Easy to drive in traffic even with the 6 sp. but get crusie option for long trips, heavy pedals! Stereo!! get the 700w upgrade and you will smile, & get ride of your home system.

Cons

Seating is odd... it is hard to find a good position to the steering wheel. I hate to say it but the Porsche is more comfortable. Seats are too narrow I'm 6.2 210lbs. I herd 07's will have bigger seats. Nav is not really user friendly, but the flip up panal is very cool. seat belt leather strap is usless, the seat belt will chaf the seat anyway. Can't see behind you, but who needs to do that anyway.

Overall

If your looking for a sweet car, and a Ferrari 430 is just too much of everything, and a Porche Turbo is a little too obvious and maybe childish. Class up to an Aston! It is soo rare, and classical, the car comands respect! outside of the LA area, you will be the only one with one.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

August 9 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Roadster

Pros

Very fast!! Handles well! Comfortable cockpit, excellent stero sound

Overall

I actually have 5 different models of course. However they are great cars!! They are unambiguously the chick magnets. They love them!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

August 6 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

I love the styling. the price though expensive is amazing for an aston martin. The interior is great and this car has had no problems so far. the sound is great. The steering is fluid and compliant. The exclusivity increases its resale value.

Cons

The performance is low compared to the 911 carrera s and the turbo. Aston should add another 50 hp or so because its only 380. The steering is not as precise as a porsche.

Overall

This is a great car for the price. I picked this over the porsche but will it be able to compete with the Audi R8. That car looks like a strong competitor and once gallardo's engine is fitted on performance wil overshadow aston martin.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

August 3 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

Sound

Cons

Comfort

Overall

acceptable

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 31 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

iconic looks; great v8 sound; elegant interior

Cons

less powere than the competition

Overall

A great car that handles excellent and is beautiful. Cheap price compared to competition. Good colors.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 29 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

Looks, sound, interior design and materials,

Cons

nothing

Overall

The car is a stunning vehicle. The sound and looks are amazing. I'm not small but the interior is very comfortable. The engine sound makes you want to keep your right foot down as much as possible. Brakes are great. Much better than the 911... it feels special - it has more soul!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 14 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

Class, style, sophistication.... this car is universally admired. I've had Ferrari's and other exotics which would often turn heads in approval but a lot of people would also look at the car and think the driver is pretentious or needing a personality boost. I think the looks of the Aston are second to none and the car includes many technologies not found in other sports cars (Nav, Bluetooth, reverse sensors, INCREDIBLE stereo)

Cons

The Nav system pops up and down when needed and I've had to take it in twice to have it adjusted as some times the Texas heat seems to warp the mechanism and it gets stuck. It seems to be fine now though.

Overall

Incredible looks, incredible growl, incredible interior, incredible car!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

July 13 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage Coupe

Pros

Appearance, power, exclusive, feels like you are in a jet not a high powered luxury sports car.

Cons

$130k only if you can't afford it.

Overall

I have never been in a car that turned so many heads...thumbs up and taking pictures are the norm. This car is awsome in every detail. Looks, handling, power, and fit! If you have the money, buy this car! Most people don't know what it is but they know it is special.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage review

Date

May 30 2007

Model

Aston Martin V8 Vantage

Pros

looks great

Cons

feel's like I'm back in a 72 MGB, may get me home may not! have had the car 4 months, one month in shop! dealer is great!!! Aston rep is lacking people skills. two engine lights, one major oil leak. seat belt hits arm rest resulting in chips,Aston said my problem not theirs.

Overall

VERY disapointed!!!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Aston Martin V8 Vantage 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph