FastCarsWiki.com

2012 Acura TL review

Date

December 23 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

I love the performance, all wheel drive handling, technological features and great style.

Cons

Requires premium fuel. steering is little too light. See the camaro for excellent weight.

Overall

I love this car. It is the all around perfect car for me. What other car offers this level of safety, technology, reliability with all wheel drive complemented by a smooth 6 speed manual?

2012 Acura TL review

Date

November 8 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

My car is the TL SH-AWD with manual transmission. This car handles very well and has good acceleration. It is fun to drive, and yet hold 4 adults comfortably.

Cons

I had significant reliabilty issues, and Acura does not stand behind their product. The clutch wore out before 40,000 miles. I have driven nothing but manual transmissions since '83 and put over 200,000 miles on 2 vehicles without ever replacing a clutch. But Acura insisted it was my fault, and the repair was outrageously expensive. They tried to charge me $1700 just for a flywheel. The battery kept draining, requiring numerous boosts. Eventually the dealer found the handsfree phone link was draining the battery even with the ignition and acc power off. Tire Pressue Sensor was constrantly giving false readings. The dealer didn't do anything over several services but finally replaced it.

Overall

This is a Honda. When you deal with customer service, at least in Canada, you are talking to Honda. And it is not a prestige experience. I don't recommend anyone ever buy any Acura. You are getting an overpriced Honda.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

September 21 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

The '12 Acura TL is a great driving vehicle. Its looks are a bit polarizing but I happen to really like them. Actually, the more I look at it, the more I like it. It definitely stands out in the crowd which appeals to me. The TL is powerful, relatively efficient, sharp looking, comfortable, feature-laden and refined. It's a real driver's car. The 6 speed automatic transmission is smooth and is very quick to downshift when the gas pedal is prodded, allowing the TL to make the most of its potent engine. The car handles very well and has a distinct sporty demeanor about it.

Cons

I wish it didn't require premium fuel but it's apparently normal for this class of vehicle as almost all of its competitors require premium too. I would appreciate a little bit more interior storage and a larger trunk. Would be nice if the rear seats folded down.

Overall

This is my 3rd TL and 5th Acura, so needless to say I'm an Acura fan. I have owned an Integra and have also owned an '05 TL and an '07 TL with navigation. Just before purchasing my '12 TL Advance, I owned a TSX V6 Tech. The '12 TL Advance is by far my favorite Acura that I've owned up until now. The TL is an incredibly cool driving car and I am very delighted to own one. Didn't love the looks of the current generation TL initially but it has definitely grown on me and now I love the styling. I think it was ahead of its time stylistically speaking. I don't think I've ever been more enthused about owning a car as I am with my '12 TL Advance. To me, it just oozes cool. I love it! With all the hype about its styling, I receive more positive remarks about my '12 TL than any other car I've owned and the previous generation TLs were considered very handsome.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

August 10 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

good interior size, good performance, love the combination of AWD and manual transmission, Acura reliability, great value

Cons

mediocre gas mileage, wished Acura offered the Technology package on manual transmission models

Overall

my 3rd TL and the best so far. I waited for the manual transmission model to be offered and am fortunate that coincided with the exterior refresh.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

April 3 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Everything, great car.

Cons

Acura link and nav, have to accept disclaimer every time you start the car, every time.

Overall

Overall one of the best luxury sports cars on the road today.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

March 2 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Good fuel economy

Overall

Super car ,i liket i a lot .best car i ever drive.Fast ,comfortable,good

2012 Acura TL review

Date

March 1 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

fair

Cons

on a smooth road it is great.

Overall

you really need to check this car out if you are going to drive it for a long time with this car to replace a light they have to remove the bumper acura have it where if you had to fix anything you have bring to them that is not good.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

March 1 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Hugs the curves, handles wonderfully

Overall

Bought my Acura TL 9 1/2 years ago (160,000 miles). The maintenance cost is minimal (tires and oil) Still handles like a dream. Has plenty of power. Thought about trading in for a 2013 but my car is in perfect condtion and I just love it. I have had several people offer to buy my car and I said no way. Driving this car until it dies and then I will buy another one.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

March 1 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Sleek and awesome!!

Cons

Premium fuel

Overall

I bought the new model TL in 2010. I get more compliments on this car than the RL that I had previous. It handles extremely well and feels like the car hugs the road. The acceleration and responsiveness are second to none. The only downside is the tickets I get for speeding!

2012 Acura TL review

Date

February 28 2013

Model

Acura TL

Overall

Decided to go with the TL and traded in my BMW. I'm very happy and pleased with it.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

February 27 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Acceleration, Handling, Front Seat Comfort, Fuel Economy

Cons

Ride and Road Noise

Overall

My TL is an excellent vehicle. I bought a certified used model and have no significant complaints. The one area where I am disappointed is the amount of road noise that does intrude into the cabin on the highway. This may be due to the tires but it is intrusive more than it should. I have over 9,000 miles on the car so far and have averaged over 20 mpg in that time (mix of HWY, CITY and commuting). It does require premium but even at the extra $.25 per gallon my overall fuel cost is less than the Cadillac SRX that I replaced. Other wise I have no issues with the vehicle. It is fast, maneuverable, nimble on its feet and is easy to park and roomy enough. The trunk is a little small and the high lip can be a PITA. Likewise the back seat is tight to get in and out of it. However if these needs are high on your list you should be looking at a crossover and not a "sports" sedan. One thing to note I bought a certified used model because I could get a longer bumper to bumper warranty than with a new model. I purchased the 7 year 100,000 mile plan. Check this before you buy a new one.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

February 21 2013

Model

Acura TL

Overall

Purchased new a 2012 TL SHAWD TECH SILVER. My 3rd Acura. 25,000 miles and several oil changes drives like brand new between Tahoe and LA! Great on the mountain roads wet or dry. Want more ELS cd's but can't find to many. You know what I mean if you have heard this sound system. Dealer takes good care of the customer and the car. The XM radio is my only complaint. Acura need to dump them as they are all over the place on price when you go to sign up for a year or 6 months. Hold out and cancel they will re sign you for $49 instead of $125. Poor tactics and not what I have come to expect from Acura? The car should last short of forever even with my high miles. I would buy a new one every year if I had the means.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

February 16 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Great gas mileage and handling once you get used to the accelerator

Cons

Voice commands not as easy as other models

Overall

Overall I am impressed. Have and BMWs and MBZ, and this feels more like the BMW with the pop and handling the tech package has a lot of perks which I am still discovering. One of the best cars for the money

2012 Acura TL review

Date

February 8 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Smooth fast car

Cons

Navigation system could be improved.

Overall

We purchased a 2012 TL with Tech Package two months ago. Great looking car that drive surprisingly smooth. The cars gas millage has been around 26 mpg city/hwy combined on premium fuel. It appears to be a well made car except for the dated navigation system. I feel Acura should be more up to date with a touch screen system that includes better mapping software and a improved Speech recognition system. Its pretty bad when my Droid Razr phone software is more advanced then a $35,000 car. Otherwise very happy with our purchase.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

January 31 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Handles well. Good power and acceleration.

Cons

The tech package is a total rip off! Seats look like sharpei leather.

Overall

Awful leather seats. $4000 for "tech package"? Dealerscrewed me on trade-in ( I know. Thats my fault) and showed no interest in rectifying problems. There is no product support from Acura at all. 1st and last Acura.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

January 25 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

steering,handling,power,roominessincluding trunk area..looks and value

Cons

none so far..a litttle rough but its a 4 door sport car..

Overall

bought used but looks new and drives really amazing specially in the highway where it shines and the steering gets tighter..fast..fast fast.. for a 40 t car...its actually a sleeper car..until you floor the pedal and its rocket!!reminded me of my evo when the turbo kicks in but looks way better...and honda reliability..cant beat that..no bmw..no audi or mercedes by the way..

2012 Acura TL review

Date

January 11 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

What's not to like? From acceleration to looks(opinions differ of course :)) and Acura's rock standing reliability - this is great value for your hard-earned $$$$

Cons

Fuel economy not the greatest - but that's a small price to pay for an A+++ car ~

Overall

Sandwiched nicely between cars which offer a 'little' bit more luxury and a 'little' bit more driving dynamics, the Acura TL is value for money along with rock-solid reliability. Highly recommended....

2012 Acura TL review

Date

January 6 2013

Model

Acura TL

Overall

My first ever Acura, I love it, great performance, looks and inside as well, never going back to ford or dodge again

2012 Acura TL review

Date

January 4 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Everything

Cons

None

Overall

I purchased my first TL new last January and fell in love with it immediately. I just love everything about it.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

December 18 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

looks, price in comparison to other vehicles, performance

Cons

premium gas

Overall

Owned vehicle for about a year with 9000 miles. Have the Advance package with all the toys for this model. Cooled seats are great in summer and blind spot indicators are a must have ( only avail in advance package). Awd is the best in biz almost unnatural the way the vehicle takes a corner only can be described as pulling you through with no under or oversteer. I consider myself an aggressive driver with never being able to break the tail on this car. Ride was a little stiff when new but seems better now. great vehicle!!

2012 Acura TL review

Date

December 17 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

solid, tight, powerful, comfortable, full of features

Cons

can't think of a single thing

Overall

this is my third TL. 2008, 2010 and now the 2012. This is my favorite of the 3. It is as tight and grounded as the 2008, but has greater acceleration and has been more refined since the 2010. the driver's position is great for me and the handling is just right. I feel very comfortable and the tech features are all that you need. the sound system is just about as good as it gets.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

December 9 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Excellent balance of luxury amenities and performance Under the radar great car Interior fit and feel Audio system Umber interior color

Cons

slight creak from flexing of center console plastics on rough roads

Overall

Traded a 2007 MB 350 4matic for a SH-AWD Tech, black with umber interior. Dealer discounts and Acura financing made the deal even though I had doubts about the exterior styling. Previously owned a 2005 TL, but did not like the 2009 restyle. The 2012 refresh has grown on me and and I now find it elegant in its own way. Comparing the TL to the 350 is, apples to oranges, each is a very good vehicle in different ways. The Benz was a very solid and well-engineered car with a whisper quiet ride, but was lacking in road feel and driving excitement. The TL is more of a driver's car, great power and handling and corners on rails with SH-AWD. After 4,000 miles it is still a blast to drive, There are no doubt more powerful cars available, but frankly 305 hp packs plenty of punch when you hit the accelerator and delivers an enthusiastic and spirited driving experience. Unless you're heading to the track or intent on racing everything that you find on the road, how much more is needed?

2012 Acura TL review

Date

December 2 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

good fuel economy, fun to drive, handling

Cons

hand brake hits my leg, LED lighting is sterile appearing

Overall

was worried about gps issues that i had read about w/ other reviews but has worked w/o any problems. Great gas mileage on highway. Excellent sound system. Tech package worth it. Interior is comfy

2012 Acura TL review

Date

November 27 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Decent inside, for the money

Cons

Like paying for service? And a lot, and often? Ugly as hell.

Overall

Difficult to imagine what they were thinking designing this car.. Ugly. Decent ride, tight when new, shake rattle and roll by 60kmi though, suspension is gone by then usually. Much worse gas mileage then what they claim.

2012 Acura TL review

Date

November 27 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

rides well good comfortable for single passenger

Cons

safety defect in airbag system,lack of customer support

Overall

When a passenger (weight from125-205#) sits in passenger side the airbag off alarm rings and goes off. After 4 attempts at fixing dealer called acura and waas told all these people were sitting incorrectly! Call to Acura gets same exact wording suggesting a defectg the automaker cannot correct NB I have had same model from two years ago without this defect and have been given loaners without this problem Acura does bnot stand behind its product SAfety Issue!

Acura TL 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph