FastCarsWiki.com

2009 Acura TL review

Date

September 23 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

I know styling is controversial, but I waited until the '09MY was available instead of buying the '08; which was cheaper. 3.5L engine is very fast. I drove the 3.7L SH-AWD and there is not a significant improvement. Interior material choices and layout are absolutely excellent. All the features that you still can't find in 2014MY vehicles. I do all my own maintenance, which really irritates my dealer when I go buy the materials from them, but the car really did not need any maintenance in 5 years; built Oct 2008. I have been a Honda person (Civics, Accords), and the TL is the evolutionary step up. When I do replace the TL, it will be with an MDX for size/utility reasons. Intuitive GPS.

Cons

Winter driving in the low-to-the-ground TL, even with much improved Bridgestone Potenza tires, is sometimes quite dangerous. I slide on the on-ramps and have to back-off the throttle very frequently. I drove the AWD version, and it did not improve much. In my amateur opinion it's the combination of power + steering all on the front wheels, wide tires (I went from the 255mm to the 235mm width to try to improve hydroplaning, with no avail), and very low-to-the-ground which creates up-lift. Still, very easy to accommodate with safe driving techniques. Acura could learn from Audi in winter-driving tuning.

Overall

performance, efficiency, low-cost of ownership, style

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

January 25 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

I love the styling and reliability of my Acura TL SH-AWD. All the buttons and switches are excellent to the touch and functions very well. I feel very safe in this automobile due to it's excellent crash test resuts performed by the National Independent Safety Agency. I would recommend this automobile to anyone who is looking for a safe, agile, performance oriented, good looking and excellent value for the dollar.

Cons

Nothing as yet.

Overall

I love the styling and reliability of my Acura TL SH-AWD. All the buttons and switches are excellent to the touch and functions very well. I feel very safe in this automobile due to it's excellent crash test resuts performed by the National Independent Safety Agency. I would recommend this automobile to anyone who is looking for a safe, agile, performance oriented, good looking and excellent value for the dollar.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

December 18 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Reliability, Performance and Value

Cons

Needs Seat Coolers, Gas Mileage could be better

Overall

This car is fast, comfortable and extremely configurable. I bought my 2009 used with 27K miles on it and it still smelled new inside. The car gets good gas mileage on the highway but below average when driving around town. The car is a great value for a used car and I would recommend to anyone. I know there are strong reactions on the styling which resulted in the "beak" of the 2009-2012 being re-styled. I like the aggressive angular styling and in fact prefer the styling of the earlier version over the current iteration. The 3.7L V6 is powerful and quick. The SH-AWD option also adds stability I've seen in few cars. This is the best handling car I've ever driven in rain and snow and I actuall prefer it to my 4X4 4Runner. If you shop smart through a dealer or through a private seller, you should really consider this car!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

July 17 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Quick, quiet and comfortable. What a great combination. I really enjoy driving this car.

Cons

A little too much plastic inside. The interior could use an upgrade.

Overall

Overall I love my TL. A really enjoyable car to own.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

June 17 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

style

Cons

braking noise

Overall

good car

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

April 5 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

amazing handling and great sound.

Cons

None

Overall

good for not to extravagant of a price.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

April 3 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Quality, reliability, excellent acceleration, super tight cornering for such a large vehicle, sporty ride/look. The extremely bright headlights are a dream at night as I have a hard time seeing. I feel bad for the oncoming vehicles. The LED taillights are a nice touch. Leather is better quality then my previous Accord and night and day to the perforated TSX leather.

Cons

The only complaints so far are the MPG and fact that you can "only use premium gas" which I am still trying to prove true. Also, the sunroof does not "pop up" like my previous Accord's did, only retracts. The wood grain in the center console is a bit confusing as it does not mimic anything in the car. Overall, minor complaints.

Overall

Just purchased my 2009 TL used with 34k miles. I have literally driven every foreign vehicle out there, new and used before I made my decision. BMW had a boring, bland interior and cost an arm and leg to repair. Lexus was overpriced and overrated. The new Maxima was a boat and the interior was sub-par, etc.... I found that this used Acura was a much better value for the money spent. I have owned an Acura Integra and two Honda Accords in the past all with over 140k miles and all have been exceptional vehicles needing only scheduled maintenance, oil changes, and breaks. The overall styling of the vehicle reviewers have found offensive, I find to be a step ahead of the rest. It’s bold and unique. A friend told me she thought the car had a nice "rear" to put it nicely and I have already had a lot of positive comments and head turns driving down the road. This car drives like a dream and I hope to continue enjoying it for at least another 100K miles.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

February 23 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Excellent handling and performance. 0-60 is increadable. Get 32mpg on flat hwy and 22 around town. Superb sound system. Have the areo kit on this model with the 19" midnight chrome wheels. Changed the looks of the car dramaticly. Wonderful tech package and the mapping is very helpful. Was not going to get the tech package but after seeing it work, we changed our minds and glad we did. Roomy back seat. Had the drawer installed in the trunk and glad we did.

Cons

The 19" wheels are a little noisy, but just turn up the incredable sound system. No lights in the center console and glove box except when the headlights are on. No use for the paddles, but do not drive widning roads that often.

Overall

Awesome vehicle. First Honda product and very happy. Have had the car for 1.5 years with 36,000 already. NO PROBLEMS!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

January 15 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

The handling, gas mileage, performance...and overal ride.....A great daily car

Cons

I only have 20K miles...so far, so good

Overall

I have owned Hondas in the past...So when they came out with the Acura line...It was a NO BRAINER...Worry free car

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

May 4 2011

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Cutting edge styling, Performance, AWD is great in bad weather. Also, the handling is on par with most two door sport cars.

Cons

Automatic is only a 5 speed, which dosent help on the fuel.(Changed in 2012 to a 6 speed, helped with fuel.) Needs just a lil more power to be the best in its class. (Infiniti G has it beat on that level) Premium fuel only.

Overall

Very good car, built by Honda so you know that it will last. I would recomend it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

September 27 2010

Model

Acura TL

Pros

This is my third TL. Love the car. The last one was totalled but saved my daughter's life when a drunk hit the car sent it into a spin and wrapped around some trees. All the airbags deployed and she walked away without a scratch. that means more than any other recommndation. Bought the new 2009 SH-AWD in Burgandy, Tech and HP tires. Drives but better than the old 2008 TL, handling is excellent. Drove from LA to Phoenix and Las Vegas on long winding roads. Great road feel, superb cornering, just a dream to drive on the open road. Love all of the tech features. Is there another car out there with such quality, finish, handling and security for $36k?

Cons

No front or reversing sensors, no electric side mirrors turn in, low gas mileage, AWD - 19 mpg.

Overall

Fabulous vehicle. Comfortable, accelerates like a stallion, corners wonderfully, road noise even on the big fat 19" rims is quite. Wow what a terrific car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

September 8 2010

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Best value for the price.

Cons

Nothing is wrong with this car. I love it.

Overall

Not one competitor can offer a fully loaded car like this one, for less money. I know because I checked them all out prior to purchasing this car. It is comfortable, it is fast enough, it is safer then all the rest in the rain and it has been completely reliable during the past 13,000 miles. I owned an RL prior to this new TL and this car is better in every way. Try and buy a similar configured Audi, BMW or Merc for less than 40,000. They don't exist and although they all surpass the TL in one or two areas, none of them offer the complete package without paying an arm and a leg.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

July 5 2010

Model

Acura TL

Pros

In my SH-AWD, just love the comfort of the seats & look of the umber leather (great combo w/Grigio metallic). The sound system is fantastic & best of the bunch, & if you need/appreciate great sound, hard to go wrong here... the DVD-Audio w/DTS surround sounds phenomenal. Love the feel of the steering and how the car feels when you throw it into a corner, & the thick steering wheel & paddle shifters make driving the SoCal mountain twisties a blast.

Cons

Nothing major... I'd add a blind-side monitoring system to the TL, which is about the only electronic gadget missing and will eventually be on most cars as it's a great safety feature. Also, the cargo hooks I got as an option are poorly designed (skip them!). I'd also like the headrests to be a bit softer in the SH-AWD... seats themselves are great, but with the tighter ride (which I like), the headrests could be softer. Finally, the OEM tires are marginal for a performance car like this... will put on some Potenzas (or similar) soon!

Overall

Before buying, I drove all the major comp, & while each "beats" the TL in some areas (such as that race-car feel of the 335 when you stomp on it), no other offers as much overall perf, comfort, driving feel, quality & value. I actually love the look of the car and have no issues with the "beak" most complain about... it really does look better in person and grows on you. I've never owned a car before where so many people commented on how great it looks. Can't go wrong with the Grigio, Borealis, or Polished Metal. Got a loaner standard (non-AWD) TL w/Tech for 2 days and it's also a great car with softer ride... if you want more perf and firmer ride, pick the SH-AWD, if not, the std TL is also a winner.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

March 24 2010

Model

Acura TL

Pros

I like the handling and acceleration of the car.

Cons

None. So far.

Overall

I just bought this car used from a dealer. It used to be a service loaner car from the dealer and I saved a bunch of money buying this. Only 11K miles on the odometer. I even got a 7year/100K miles warranty. I had a Honda Accord for 11 years and bought a Toyota Camry. What a disappointment! My cousin bought my Honda Accord and drove it from California to Ohio to Virginia. It already had more than 100K miles on it when he drove it. Upto now, he still drives it around Virginia. I want my Honda back that's why I bought this Acura.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

March 22 2010

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Solid build, echoes quality from interior to exterior. SH-AWD package, Tech package, handling...I didn't notice any thing wrong like a numbness with the steering. Acceleration and sports feel in a 4 door sedan.

Cons

None as of yet.

Overall

Full to the gills with features that would be extra cost as options on other brands. Not stuck on the status symbol thing is one reason why I again choose an Acura over say a "Bimmer." I got caught in a down pour on I-20 outside of Atlanta and WOW! The car handled like a dream! This is my 14th car and I am looking forward to whipping Grace around the highways and by-ways for the next couple of years.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

February 10 2010

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Very nice car and fun to drive...

Cons

For the price, it's a steal

Overall

Interesting to read some real negative reviews about this car... What's amazing to me is, the people who rated it undesirable, never bought the car.... Who cares what they think ! They must have too much time on their hands...

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

January 8 2010

Model

Acura TL

Pros

great sound system, tech package, nice interior

Cons

not the best ride, cornering is weird with front wheel drive, transmission lags

Overall

I bought this car on reivews i read about. It is a good car but not a great car. My biggest complaint is the lag in the acceleration sometimes...it appears there something not 100% there. It gets jerky sometimes. For the most acceleration is good, the ride is good on smooth surfaces but not so hot on bumpy roads. In wet weather the traction is strange. I prefer rear wheel drives. So far it has been dependable although my friends 2005 tl's transmission blew out.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

October 5 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

The performance, handeling and operating features included are outstanding. The engineering and thought that went into this vehicile are impressive. Best automobile I ever owned.

Cons

The setup menu's for vehicile internal functions and display are confusing.

Overall

Overall Honda/Acura has lived up to it's reputation of excellent. I give it a 9.5 out of 10.0

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

September 22 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

The technology and integration is a far leap beyond the overall 2006 model that I enjoyed for 3 and 1/2 years. The navigation is hard drive based and recalculates quickly. Additionally, the power and confidence provided by the 3.7 liter engine leaves very little to be desired. The SH-AWD gives me complete confidence when driving in treacherous conditions. The seats are comfortable and the technology intuitive in its usage.

Cons

Overall, it is an amazing vehicle but I would hope to see one additional safety features in 2010 and that is blind spot notification (available in the Mazda 6 and redesigned Ford Taurus). Additionally, I would also have the availability of remote start as an optional capability, as the TL SH-AWD has a push button starter the capability to have a remote start installed as a Dealer Accessory is not yet available. Aside from that, the vehicle is amazing.

Overall

The car is amazing in technology, safety, performance, capability and value. I enjoy driving the vehicle and I can't recommend it enough to someone looking for another car. I had an amazing dealer (Ramsey Acura in NJ), who continued to provide support to questions that I had between the 2006 and 2009 models. The Bluetooth is clear, the navigation is quick and accurate and I love the iPod integration! Everything is within short reach. Convenience is key, so is grace and power.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Acura TL review

Date

September 22 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

High tech and beautiful interior! One of the top performance car i've ever owned. Easy packages to choose from, most of the features are standard, nothing unexpected!

Cons

One thing I do think the exterior is not the best out there...

Overall

How could you write a review of a vehicle that you don't even own it!! "Review ID: #539681 Review ID: #541545" it is so unfair for them to rate the vehicle so low! Why would you care to write a review, if you don't even consider buying one? anyways, I love this vehicle and I do recommend it to everyone.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Acura TL 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph