FastCarsWiki.com

2008 Acura TL review

Date

June 6 2014

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Tons of features for money, excellent reliability (I drive very hard), maintenance costs are extremely low especially when compared to German cars.

Cons

Sluggish handling off the line when hot out and AC blasting, with my driving many tanks I only get 19-20 mpg on premium.

Overall

I have owned many Hondas, 2 VWs, and this is my second Acura... I am a lifetime Acura driver from now on, you get oil changed and put gas in and drive... I have never been let down, I currently have 90,000miles and it drives like the day I bought it with 40,000mi on it. I have never owned a vehicle that can handle my aggressive driving and keep asking for more, I feel like I could drive this to 300,000 miles and it would still be begging for more speed. Even at 100mph I've never felt unsafe, it handles like a sports car.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

August 4 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Ours is a red and silver S Type with 6 speed manual transmission. Love the style, and tight handling is great for a FWD car. Gets 30+ MPG highway, and seats 4 comfortably. The front Brembo brakes provide excellent stopping. I like that everything is included in the S Type i.e. few additional options. Exterior fit and finish is flawless. When you shut the doors, there are no rattles, and it sounds solid. The headlighting is awesome. After 5 years we still receive complements.

Cons

Minor stuff. The shifting is sometimes balky from second to third, might just be an adjustment. Clutch engages quickly and takes a bit of practice. There are a few rattles in the driver's side A pillar when it's below 50 degrees. Fitment of the trunk lining is a bit sloppy.

Overall

A fun car to drive and inexpensive to own. We love this on long trips. I prefer this minimalist body style to the later models, which seem bloated. I would buy another Acura, expecially if an AWD and manual transmission were available. I gave a co-worker a ride and she traded her Jetta for a TSX within a few weeks.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

July 1 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Very reliable, great styling, nice interior finish, lots of useful features, excellent MPG on the highway (usually average 30+), fantastic service at Ed Martin Acura, relatively inexpensive maintenance, nice sound system.

Cons

Only a couple of minor things: the turning radius is ridiculously wide, the paint scratches easily.

Overall

This is a great car. I bought it Certified Pre-Owned with very few miles and have owned it for three years now. I have only had one really major repair (power steering system) that was completely covered under my Acura Care warranty. It's very reliable, and the regular maintenance on this vehicle is very inexpensive compared to other luxury cars. I bought it as a "sensible" alternative to what I really wanted (a BMW, Audi, or Mercedes), knowing the Acura would be more reliable and cost much less to service, and I ended up loving it.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

February 17 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

the luxury look, I always get compliments.

Cons

gas mileage

Overall

overall I love this car, I can honestly say it feels up there with the "fancier cars" that everyone seems to be buying now.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

February 9 2013

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Feels like and handles like a much heavier car. Fun to drive. Comfortable for all passengers. Great visibility.

Cons

Heating and defrost systems a little inefficient in very cold weather. In city traffic, downshift transitions are somewhat awkward feeling.

Overall

Great value. Gets many positive comments about body design. Drivers compartment more comfortable than BMW, Mercedes, or Lexus.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

September 29 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

I like for its luxury

Cons

Its milage

Overall

Very nice

2008 Acura TL review

Date

June 15 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Purchased a Type S for performance, comfort and reliability for daily commuting - after 96,000 mi. no regrets and car still feels as tight as when new. Completely satisfied, especially with virtually no repairs. Great sound system.

Cons

Would prefer an updated GPS system.

Overall

I researched and shopped in this category for quite awhile before buying. I am completely satisfied with owning this vehicle. I wasn't sure about "stepping up" from my Honda Accord. I have had zero regrets, I wouldn't go back.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

June 10 2012

Model

Acura TL

Pros

I love the design and handling features. This is a great car.

Cons

I don't have any dislikes. I love everything about the car.

Overall

Great car in a comfortable and sleek style. A+

2008 Acura TL review

Date

January 7 2011

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Great Acceleration and style

Cons

Not the best paint finish (soft and scratches) - Poor cooling system, minor problems with the tire pressure system in cold weather, few rattles after only 10K and stock tires lasted only 20k miles

Overall

Paint finish was a real issue, I've always owned black Cars - but with the TL you'll get scratches just looking at it - My 1981 Chevy had better paint! I should have saved thousands for a Honda, as the cost of the Acura TL wasn't worth it

2008 Acura TL review

Date

May 25 2010

Model

Acura TL

Pros

RUNS SMOOTH AND I'M PROUD THAT I GOT ONE, AND ALWAYS GET COMPLIMENTS

Cons

MY INTERIOR, BECAUSE I LIKE BLACK BETTER

Overall

GOOD CAR FOR ME TO DRIVE

2008 Acura TL review

Date

January 18 2010

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Great looking car with a boatload of options

Cons

Not so great on gas

Overall

I LOVE my TL. This one is not as good on gas as my 05 TL with a manual but then again, the Type-S does have a slightly bigger engine. I can't get enough of the standard equipment. I love the navigation and the bluetooth is great. Acura has a great way of combining safety with luxury. I wish they didn't change the body style for 2009 though.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

December 23 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

handling and performance

Cons

Some highway road noise

Overall

Overall quality and performance

2008 Acura TL review

Date

November 2 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

I love the handling, the look, the gas mileage for the size, the roominess, the comfort...I would ABSOLUTELY recommend buying a TL.

Cons

semi-expensive to maintain...but not too bad when you consider that it's spaced out further. For example, oil change is $50, but its only every 6500 miles. It all evens out.

Overall

If you've narrowed the list down to cars like the G35, the Maxima, the TL, etc...go with the TL. It's an amazing car and if I had to buy another car tomorrow, this would be FAR above everything else. LOVE LOVE LOVE it.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

June 23 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Rides very nicely. Comes standard with pretty much everything you need in a luxury vehicle. Very good looking car. Great value for the money

Cons

Wide turns. Front door are almost impossible to keep open, especially when parked uphill- doors swing back closed unless you hold in place for a while. ABS too sensitive and creates heat patches on disks, which then requires to have machined. Tire pressure monitor can be extremely annoying during cold days when tire pressure drops more than ussual.

Overall

I enjoy driving this car. Overall, it is a great deal for the money. Just a few annoying things that hopefully have been addressed in the new model- Although I like the look of the 2008 model more than the 2009. Oh well... I guess you can't have it all.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

April 7 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

I purchased this car with 6 miles, it was a dealer demo. I am so impressed with all this car offers. I had a 3 series BMW and never thought I would go with another type of car. This car is really fun to drive and love every minute that I have to drive it. This car has the upgraded chrome rim with high performance tires and underside molding in nighthawk black. I have gotten so many compliments.

Cons

It has a very stiff ride. premium gas.

Overall

excellent car...........

2008 Acura TL review

Date

March 3 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

The pearl white color, body style and comfort it provides inside and on the wheel are A+.

Cons

I’m a little disappointed that it turns wider than I expected. And I wish the back AC/Heater vents were placed over head instead of between the front seats.

Overall

Very tight competition of its class but over-all it’s a winner.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

January 20 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Look, Style, Class

Cons

I wish I got better gas mileage

Overall

I have had this car for 3 months now and I love it. I upgraded the suspension (A-Spec) and now it handles even better then I could have ever imagined (not that the original susp. was bad). I have fallen in love with the White Diamond Pearl and the two tone interior. The Navigation is great, the XM is great, not to mention the amount of power that this car has... amazing. When I want to get up and go... this car will do what ever I ask of it. I am so happy that my last TL (certified pre-owned from DCH Acura in Wappingers) was a lemon because I would have never found out how great this 08 Type-S is. I am in the process of putting on the full A-Spec body kit too. This car is a must have for any car enthusiast.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

January 14 2009

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Luxury car for good price

Cons

Acura is not a great company

Overall

Bought a new 08 TL on December 8 from Pohanka in VA. On Dec. 23 the car stalled on the side of the road when we were on vacation in Chicago. It ended up being a major engine repair (cam shaft seized and caused damage making the engine fire backwards). The car was finally shipped back to me on Jan. 9 so it has been in the service center for longer than I have driven it. I have spoken with the service manager of the dealership in IL and in VA as well as the GM at Pohanka. None of these people have ever heard of this issue happening before and all of them thought I should get a new car. I called Acura customer service late in December and after 2 weeks of reviewing my situation they told me they are only obligated to fix the car I bought and declined to give me a replacement car. They did try to offer me an extended warranty which would cause me to decline my rights to the lemon law. I then asked what my other options are and the lady from customer care told me to call the better business bureau or get a lawyer! I am still trying to get a replacement car but I am not very hopeful given the way I have been treated up to this point. My wife and I really like this car and understand that it is probably an extremely uncommon problem but we are very upset with Acura and how they have treated us. I just wanted to warn you all to think twice about purchasing from a company that will treat you this way. Be sure to consider other companies when looking for a new car. I can't imagine them treating you any worse than Acura would.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

December 24 2008

Model

Acura TL

Pros

The styling is impecable on this car. Love the ride handling. I can take curves at 60MPH and the car hugs the road. The MPG is unfounded in a mid-size sports sedan. Drove from PA to NJ and with Cruise control on I got 35 MPG doing 70MPH Not bad for a sedan with 286 BHP. The interior is so cool at night with the red backlight and the floor in the front also lights up. I planon paying this car off and keeping it! This car was the best purchase since I have been buying cars. I was All-American Brand but I totally flip-flopped. This car will last for a very long time and like a BMW and MB it will age gracefully. The Type-S is a limited prodcuction so it will be a rare sight on the road.

Cons

I don't like the fact that the rear seats don't fold down, requires 93 Octane (all Acuras do) This is my second one because I originally bought a 2007 but I had nothing but problems and had the manufacturer buy the car back. The 2008 that I have now has been flawless.

Overall

Highly recommend the vehicle. Seen the 2009 TL and the look may grow but I prefer mine. I prefer the one that I purchased. It has a timeless look

2008 Acura TL review

Date

December 22 2008

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Sleek look. Very smooth ride. Good acceleration. Comfortable interior.

Cons

Turning radius is on the wide side.

Overall

Would purchase again in a heartbeat. This car is an excellent value, performs well on the road and has a great interior.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

November 23 2008

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Powerful engine (286 HP) mated to a slick shifting 6-spd manual transmission Plenty of interior room, feels bigger than BMW 5-series, definitely more interior space than BMW 3-series or Infiniti G-series sedan Instrumentation all in the right place, easy to read, like the red interior lighting at night Good visibility throughout, no real blind spots Front seats - supportive, comfortable on long trips - leather has a good, high quality feel Back seats - plenty of room for 2 adults , 3 will fit but a little snug Handling - excellent combination of comfort & tight sporty feeling. Hard to tell it is FWD unless you push it. Beautiful exterior styling - perfect, chiseled, sports sedan look

Cons

Nothing major - would be nice to have rear seats fold down - they do have a pass through. Trunk is not huge

Overall

Almost the perfect blend of sport, sedan, performance, handling and VALUE Nearly everything is standard - Navigation systems, Tire-pressure monitoring system, hands-free, blue-tooth phone capabilty is fantastic Honda/Acura reliability Great Navigation system - touch screen is the only way to go Stereo and XM radio is first rate Very spectable MPG - - getting over 30 on long highway, low to mid 20's in town Not sure there is a better blend of handling, value, performance, standard features, and styling in sports sedan!! Fantastic car!!

2008 Acura TL review

Date

November 16 2008

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Performance, totally trouble free, and great blue tooth

Cons

poor turning radius

Overall

excellent car for the money, base model well equipped

2008 Acura TL review

Date

November 15 2008

Model

Acura TL

Pros

nice sporty look, blue sporty color, navigation with voice activation, back up camera, quad exhaust

Cons

not so good fuel economy, limited can holder and storage space inside, rear seat does not fold down

Overall

I've purchased a brand new 2008 TL type s this Oct for $7000 less than the market price. The dealership at Libertyville Acura in IL was giving away the car to me to make way for the ugly 09's. I traded in my very reliable, effecient 04 accord coz I wanted a more sporty car. This TL indeed puts a smile in my face everytime I see it, true for the other people who come across it. I've seen several people literally come close to the car, short of touching it. This car has tremendous accleration which creates a growl from the engine, superb handling and cornering. The steering wheel may be too heavy to turn, specially for the females, due to the wider tires it has. Comfort creature amenities such as navi with voice activation, memory seats and vented leather seats make it a wonderful car to drive. Added features such as a back up camera and heated side mirrors that roll down when backing up are a plus. However, I've noticed that there are fewer can holders and there is a lack of storage space for my eye glasses unlike the accord. Fuel economy is not the best (16 mpg city only) but I guess I shouldn't be complaining coz I have a sports luxury car after all. Fan speed in the air conditioning system, I think, rans slower than the accord. Rear seat does not fold down and leg room at the rear is a bit tighter. These comparisons are based on my accord which is a family car and not with a sports vehicle. Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase. I got the deal of the year (also got 2.9 APR) and most of all, I got the car I wanted so much.

2008 Acura TL review

Date

November 10 2008

Model

Acura TL

Pros

Beautiful car! The fit and finish unmatched. Love the huge nav screen with integrated radio

Cons

None so far

Overall

I bought this car in October and got a Type S below the invoice of the standard model. The dealer was trying to clear the lot to make room for the 2009 TL which is drastically different. I had seen the 2009 model in magazines and hated it when compaired to the 2008 so I had no problem buying the 2008 with the 2009's right around the corner. I went to the autoshow here in Tampa last weekend and sat in the 2009 TL and found I had made the absolute BEST choice!!! The interior style of my 2008 is soooooo much nicer than the 2009. Also, the 2009 standard model was priced the same as the 2008 Type S and the Type S had 186 hp to the 2009's 180 hp. The nav in the 2009 is place higher on the dash and is no longer a touch screen. I LOVE the touch screen on my 2008!!!! I could not be happier with my pruchase!

2008 Acura TL review

Date

October 31 2008

Model

Acura TL

Pros

great car

Cons

mud guards should be standard

Overall

We took a test drive and we made up our mind that this is the car for us! There wasn't a thing not to like. With this car being the last one in the state in this color and the dealership was willing to get it out of it's inventory, we got a fantastic deal, but I got them to come down even more. I had the sales manager shaking his head alot before we agreed on the price. You know you got a great price when they won't throw in mud guards in the deal, I had to pay cost for them, but had them install the mud guards for free. Took a trip up the coast to Solvang and such a pleasant day in the car. We'll get another one when the time comes!

Acura TL 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph